Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

The Old Way

  • brunopontes likes this

The Old Way

The Old Way

Type: Agenda House: Greyjoy
Game Text:
Should have the text: "Joust format only."

House Greyjoy only.
Joust format only.
After a challenge resolves, the player who counted the lowest total STR must choose and kill a participating character he or she controls.
Number: 99 Set: FF
Quantity: 3 Illustrator:
Recent Decks: gj - old way first try
GJ The Old Way - 4-0 Store Championship
The Old Way
GJ The Old Way
The Holy Old Way


Dec 26 2013 01:48 AM
God this looks like it'd be so much fun in melee. The mayhem you could create...
    • brunopontes likes this
Jan 03 2014 03:04 PM
If I have naval attackers and naval defenders in the same challenge do they both count towards my player total STR?

If walder Frey joins a challenge between two other players do all 3 players count total str or does walder count towards someone else's total?
It is not possible for you to control naval attackers and defenders in the same challenge as you are either attacking or defending but yes, a naval character's STR is included in counting the STR to win the challenge and will count towards this agenda effect.

Walder Frey works essentially the same except usually controlled by a player who is not the attacker or defender of the challenge. Walder Frey's STR will still count towards the effect for the player who wins the challenge, but because the controller of Walder is not the attacker or defender the plot card's effect does not target him.
Jan 17 2014 07:33 AM
I think this helps to understand walder: http://www.cardgamed...s-issue-21-r495

It helps to look at walder's strength and deadly keyword independently. His strength can count for one player, while his deadly may count for another.

Good article there Socrates, it took me a while to get my head around Walder Frey. I was looking at making an 'Across the Summer Sea (APS)' deck using this for every plot card and using other effects to gain power and lots of jumpers to mess with the other challenges (obviously this deck wouldn't work or be very fun in a joust). Anyways whilst researching I checked the rules for the keywords and found they don't count during other players challenges so that practically ruined the fun in the deck idea.
Nov 29 2014 04:58 PM

As first player, if you initiate a military challenge and your opponent blocks the challenge with a single character (and loses), can that character be chosen for claim and the character that meets the conditions of the agenda?

yes, if it was the only character participating, and you would resolve the claim before the challenge is resolved and then the agenda would take effect but as there are no more participating characters from that challenge there is no target for the effect. Unless you saved it, then you would have to kill it again (or save).
    • MagnusLothar likes this
May 22 2015 11:44 AM

Its the strongest agenda in the game! Completly messes strategy of opponents. I can not imagine why is not restricted...