Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Catelyn Stark



Unique Catelyn Stark



Type: Character House: Stark
Cost: 3 Strength: 3 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Lady. House Tully.
House Stark only.Challenges: Put Catelyn Stark into play from your hand, knelt as a defender during an Intrigue or Power challenge initiated against you. At the end of the phase, if Catelyn Stark is still in play, return her to your hand.
Crest: Noble
Number: 7 Set: LoW
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Mark Evans
Recent Decks: Stark: Wolves & Arya (Final Version 60 Cards)
Stark Noble Conquest Martell
Stark: Wolves & Arya v3 (Final)
Stark Aggro
Kindly Stark Version 2.


12 Comments

just to absolutely clarify, she cheats on Joust and Stealth, correct? You can activate her ability in the Player Action window after Defenders framework actions, when Stealth and Joust had their effects accounted for?

Had Ranger of Winter (TWoW) out with Ser Jorah Mormont (WLL) coming at me for an intrigue challenge. 99% sure on this, just want validation.
Yes, as you describe is correct.
What would be if I cancel her ability? She will return to hand or stay in play?
she will return to the hand and then your opponent can use her ability again so it is really not worth canceling
Let's say her ability is used, she is put into play from your hand to defend. Then she is killed and goes to your dead pile. Then, in the same phase, she is brought back into play from the dead pile. At the end of the phase, does she go in your hand or remain in play?
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 23 2013 03:51 PM
Her leaving play to the dead pile (or any other out of play area) negates her lasting effect of returning her to hand. When she enters play from the dead pile she is considered a new card. It would depend upon what effect it was that put her back into play - if it was something like Narrow Escape (KotStorm), then yes - she would stay in play.
Won't the end of phase trigger anyway to check if Catelyn Stark is still in play? She will "still be in-play" after being put into play from the dead pile. I'm new to the game and I can't find the rule that says the lasting effect would negate when she is killed. Shouldn't you return her to your hand after Narrow Escape?
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 23 2013 05:35 PM
When she re-enters play, it is as if she was a brand new card - even if she is the same card. I will try to look up a rules reference in a bit - or someone else can chime in as well.
Related to the earlier question of cancelling, I was wondering if this reasoning was correct, in regard to the Iron Throne.

Challenge is declared, attackers nominated, Catelyn is played. Iron Throne could be used to cancel, sending her back to the hand only to be played again. Alternatively, after the challenge is finished, and Cat would go back to the hand, Iron Throne could be used to cancel the return triggered by the end of the challenge, and Cat would henceforth remain in play.

Is this correct?
No on both counts. Cat being brought into the challenge as a defender is a triggered ability, but not a character ability, as she was not in play to begin with.
Her being brought in creates a lasting effect to return her to hand, which therefore can't be cancelled. Also, responses can't be used at the end of a phase, so there couldn't be any triggered character abilities for the Iron Throne to cancel.
This may be a stupid question, but do you have to pay the cost to play Catelyn in order to use her ability?
There is no cost to use her ability. She just has to be in your hand to initiate it during a challenges phase player action window.