Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

The Viper's Bannermen

The Viper's Bannermen

The Viper's Bannermen

Type: Character House: Martell
Cost: 7 Strength: 7 Icons: Military, Power
Game Text:
Stealth. Deadly. No attachments.
Response: After The Viper's Bannermen comes into play or leaves play, reveal the top 2 cards of your deck, then put them into your hand.
Number: 16 Set: PotS
Quantity: 2 Illustrator: Mike Franchina
Recent Decks: Buying Armies - Melee
Buying Armies
Kindly Stark Version 2.
Beachballs (1st Place, London Store Championship 2014)
Quentyn Aggro-Control


In the last FAQ this card has been restricted.
Why is this card restricted? I mean since "massing in twillight" everybody knows revealing and putting into your hand is awesome, but this card has a cost of seven?!
you shouldn't forget the rest of his stats... 7 str with deadly and stealth, +no attachments to debuff him. Army trait and bicon. He dies? ok, you get 2 more cards in your hand, he is not unique so you could have potentially more than 1 in play as well
Jun 30 2012 02:55 AM
Listen to episode 73 of the podcast for a potential reason why this is restricted.
Thanks for the response. But... ehh - 73? There are only 71!?
Jun 30 2012 02:47 PM
Opps. typo. Ep. 71. They mentioned that you can abuse the card draw mechanic with things like Narrow Escape because it is not actually card draw and doesn't count against your draw cap.
guys but as far as i understand this you can play restricted but only one card from the restricted list in a deck (up to 3 copies) kinda new here so pleas don't shoot.
yes you can only use one restricted card in your deck with up to the normally allowed 3 copies of the card or only 1 copy if the restricted card chosen is a plot.
Jul 16 2012 01:46 PM
@Mahanon - my comment was in regards to the podcast, which they were talking about a game Gregg had before the Bannerman and Narrow Escape was on the restricted list.

I suppose it would have been better if I had said that you "used to be able too..." and "before the restricted list" but I was trying to get more people to listen to the pod cast :D
Will the respond be triggered twice when you play this card with The Kindly Man (VM)?
"After The Viper's Bannermen (1) comes into play or (2) leaves play..."

Someone explained elsewhere: "...TVB only triggers on the way in (no trigger window at the end of the phase when they leave)" but I don´t get it :huh:
The FAQ states that there is no save/cancel window or response window during the End of Phase framework action window. So there is no way to trigger these guys when they leave play at the end of the phase.
If this cards is discarded from player's hand does it consider to be as "leaving play"? I assume not, because it never did ("in play"). I need some clarification...
A player's hand, shadows area, discard, dead pile, and deck are all considered out of play, so no it would not trigger.
    • Angarde and BSuarez like this
So do cards gained this way (i.e. "reveal and put into hand") count against your draw cap?
No. Just the ones through "draw" effects.
I am still trying to figure out how to pay the 7 gold.
Oct 10 2013 03:52 PM
Muster the Realm! (QoD) + Palace Fountains (PotS) (x2)
Oct 10 2013 03:55 PM
Any 5 gold plot+ Summer Sea, or simply Manning the City Walls
Knights Of The Hollow Hill and any 5 gold plot.