Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Doran's Game

Doran's Game

Doran's Game

Type: Event House: Martell
Game Text:

House Martell only.
Response: Kneel a Learned character or 3 influence to cancel the effects of an event card just played. Then, you may kneel a second Learned character to attach that event to your House card. you may play that event as if it were in your hand.
Number: 12 Set: GotC
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Anna Christenson
Recent Decks: Doran's Court
Maester Convention
Martell Maesters v2
No griefering v1.0
Main regular


When attached to your House Card. Does it stay on your House Card and you can play it as many times as you like or only the once whenever you decide to play it??
Jun 24 2011 03:54 PM
Hm, that's a good question. I'm sure the intent was that it would be discarded after use - much like all cards played from hand. Yeah, that's got to be the answer.
I believe that too. I think it stays on your House Card till you are willing to use it.

I am now training and using the Martell's as my deck. Did 4 months of Targaryen, now 4 months of Martell's.

So here is a scenario:

I play Doran's Game, cancel an Event Card's effect's and put it on my House Card. Because the last sentence on Doran's Game reads "You may play that event as if it were in your hand."; does this mean it can be removed due to the Lannister's Event Card Call Their Bluff or from an Intrigue Challenge??
No, the card is not actually in your hand even if it can be played as such.
Jun 26 2011 02:40 AM
Spoke with Damon. Yes, the card is sent to the discard pile once played "as if it were in your hand." And no, even though the verb _attach_ is used, you may not use attachment removal to discard the event from the house card.
Just to clarify first. This card is still event after attaching it to House card and of course is not affected by any attachment hates. Additionally if you pay for this card using influence it can't be cancel by
Paper Shield (QoD) but it can be if payed by kneeling learned character. Finally to get 2nd part of this effect you should pay first time with learned character.
Returning to subject it is unconditional cancel of event card which is powerfull ability. We have currently several such card. Mentioned Paper Shield, He Calls It Thinking (PotS) and finally
The Hand's Judgement (TTotH). All are much better in my opinion.