Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Winterfell
Submitted
Guest
, -- | Last updated --
![]() |
|
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder! |
Recent Decks Using This Card:
32 Comments
Just to clarify this DOES prevent either player from playing events as well just like core Cat does, correct?
Yes.
Cat doesn't stop her side from playing anything, just opponents can't trigger their card abilities. Winterfell stops both sides.
No. Stealth, Renown, Intimidate and Insight are considered "keywords" rather than "triggered abilities", so are not affected by Winterfell.
"House Stark only" in 1.0, Loyal in 2.0.
The Winterfell cards in this game never failed to provide good laughs.
So just to be clear: do the words "ability" or "trigger" limit this card in any way? I mean a guy just used this vs all my plots (Like clash of the kings or rise of the kraken) and vs asha stand etc... is it really that strong? So even f.ex. vs balon, is his ability a trigger?? (yes I do still play gj and enjoy it)
No, using a dupe to save a character is considered a "player action" not a "card ability." Winterfell can't stop it.
The trick here is that the dupe save is not a "card ability" of the dupe (which is considered blank), and it is not a "card ability" of the duped card (because the dupe save is not "gained" by the card). Effectively, when you use a dupe, you are utilizing the dupe rules, not any ability on an actual card - the same way that declaring a character as an attacker is utilizing the challenge rules, not any ability of an actual card.
That's the long way of saying what Taren already said: dupe saves are not "card abilities," so Winterfell doesn't affect them.
Y, I just saw it's actually in the RRF what a "Triggered Ability" is.
Dose this prevent Events like Trial by Combat and Tears of Lys.
how do you get around this?
I came up vs it today and could only get one or 2 Treachery off on it.
Correct it does affect those events, anything with bold text is a triggered ability (someone correct me if I am wrong). Best way to get around this is to have winter plots, or you can also use nightmares.
Exactly: "A triggered ability is any ability with a boldface precursor followed by a colon and the rest of the ability. This includes actions, phase specific actions, interrupts, reactions, forced interrupts or reactions, and when revealed abilites."
Regarding Tears, Winterfell stops triggered reactions "until the end of the challenge." Tears reacts "after you win a challenge" so does Winterfell actually stop tears from being played? It seems counter-intuitive; isn't a challenge considered over as soon as a winner is determined? It would seem that Winterfell shouldn't be able to stop Tears from going off. Similarly, Trial changes the claim, which itself is not applied until after the challenge is over (claim is not applied during a challenge - it is an effect of a resolved challenge.)
It comes down to when does a challenge actually end - when the winner is determined, in which case DUCK is a series of responses to the challenge that just ended, or the challenge isn't over until DUCK is applied, meaning that the challenge is still active while those things are happening?
There is a whole step after DUCK:
Yes, that makes total sense.
And if my opponent took control of my Winterfell by Euron Crow's Eye from the discard pile, i cannot marshal another copy of Winterfell after i draw another one now that he has it in play?
Correct
If this card works the same as Catelyn core which it seems like (apart form the fact it can affect the Stark player if he does not have a winter card), then no, this doesn't affect Balon's ability, or Robert Bara's or Tywin etc, becuase their abilities are 'constant' abilities, not 'triggered' as they do not have the Bold preface like Action or Reaction. I only recently came to understand this. Winterfell and Catelyn stop Action,Reaction,Interupt etc and pretty much every event card that I can think of. But they don't stop the big constant ability guys.
Can you play another reaction before the Winterfell reaction?
I assume you definitely can't play a regular "challenges action" before because that would signify you are now past the "initiation of the challenge"...
However what if you're the first player and you have a 2nd after challenge "initiation reaction" card, can you choose to play it before the Winterfell reaction?
For that matter even Not the FP?
I believe first a player starts initiating a challenge, then all players beginning with first player have the opportunity to play interrupts (and they resolve), then the challenge is initiated, then all players beginning with first player have the opportunity to play reactions. So first player could play something before Winterfell's reaction. Anyone can until someone finally uses Winterfell's reaction.
EDIT: Oh, if you're asking if Winterfell's reaction has to be the first reaction a player uses if they can. No, that would only be if it was a forced reaction. A player can play their reactions in whatever order they want.
You can trigger Reactions to the challenge being initiated starting with the 1st player, and then alternating until both pass on reactions. Winterfell can be triggered second, third, or whenever you want.
For example:
P1: Trigger Tyrion
P2: Levies from the Rock
P1: WInterfell