Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

"Backstabber"



"Backstabber"

♦ "Backstabber"


Type: Unit
Cost: 3
Force Icons: 1
Icons: 1 1 1
Faction: Dark Imperial Navy
Vehicle. Fighter. Black Squadron.
Action: During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side.
Reaction: After this unit enters play during an engagement, deal 1 damage to the engaged objective.
Health: 2
Block Number: 27 - 2 of 6
Set: Core Number: 0013
Illustrator: Blake Henriksen
* * * * -   3 Imperial Officers have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 27
Recent Decks Using This Card:


15 Comments

Photo
HIGHSnowman09
Jan 09 2013 03:06 AM
If I were to play this unit during an engagement in which I am defending against a LS conflict, would the reaction ability deal 1 damage to my objective?
Reactions and Interrupts are voluntary unless forced. See Rancor for an example of a forced reaction.
Sup guys!

So I'm not into Starwars (yet), so I have no idea how the rules work (except for what I've heard on the 2c1c podcast and from what I can assume based on AGoT and MTG). But I still like to look at cards :P

Could anyone explain to me, in short, why there are both white and black unit damage icons etc?
Photo
EmeraldGuardian
Jan 11 2013 09:42 AM

Could anyone explain to me, in short, why there are both white and black unit damage icons etc?

In brief the black icons are always on. The white ones only apply if you win the edge battle.

The edge battle is a struggle for initiative where you and your opponent discard cards face down to add up their force icons. Player with the most force icons on cards in their edge stack wins the edge battle! They get to strike first and only their edge dependent icons work.
    • Laxen likes this

In brief the black icons are always on. The white ones only apply if you win the edge battle.

The edge battle is a struggle for initiative where you and your opponent discard cards face down to add up their force icons. Player with the most force icons on cards in their edge stack wins the edge battle! They get to strike first and only their edge dependent icons work.


Oh, ok. Thanks mate, helped me a lot.
Came looking here for the ruling on this reaction in a defensive engagement. Played a game through OCTGN last night and it activated the ability on my own objective. Sadly I didn't have the rule book at hand, otherwise I would have removed that dmg :P LS was putting down enough hurt already!
It's not a forced reaction so you don't need to take the damage on your objective if you don't want to.

Came looking here for the ruling on this reaction in a defensive engagement. Played a game through OCTGN last night and it activated the ability on my own objective. Sadly I didn't have the rule book at hand, otherwise I would have removed that dmg :P LS was putting down enough hurt already!

As cosmid said, using the reaction (offense or defense) is completely optional. If you do decide to activate it during a defensive engagement it can damage your own objective, but the times you'd want to do that are rare.

Could anyone explain why the authors of the game couldn't put it simpler?

 

Action: During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side and deal 1 damage to the engaged objective"

 

 

Why this action/reacion thing?

 

Or there's some subtle difference I couldn't grasp?

Could anyone explain why the authors of the game couldn't put it simpler?

 

 

Why this action/reacion thing?

 

Or there's some subtle difference I couldn't grasp?

 

With the way it's worded, you can trigger the reaction even if you don't get Backstabber into play through its own action (though I can't really think of a way right now). Having it all as a single action would make the extra damage more restrictive.

So... dumb question. And I know I've used this before, its just been a while. If you were to play this out of hand in an engagement, you still must pay for it, like Ackbar. Correct?

play and put into play are two different rules.   This card says to play, so yes you have to pay for it.

thanks

Does its action work with kuat  reinforcements?

Does its action work with kuat  reinforcements?

Yep.  Or more properly, Kuat Reinforcements works with Backstabber's Action.


Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.