Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
New Deckbuilders Coming!
The new and much improved Star Wars Deckbuilder is now live. Check out this topic for the details!

Darksbane

Kuat Reinforcements



Kuat Reinforcements

Kuat Reinforcements


Type: Objective
Faction: Dark Imperial Navy
Kuat.
Interrupt: When you play a Vehicle unit, discard X cards from your hand to reduce its cost by X (to a minimum of 1).
Health: 5
Resources Generated: 1
Block Number: 27 - 1 of 6
Set: Core Number: 0087
Illustrator: Matt Bradbury
* * * * -   4 Imperial Officers have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 27
Block Stats:
# Units: 3
Total Cost: 7
Average Cost: 1.4
Total Force Icons: 5
Average Force Icons: 1
Recent Decks Using This Card:


15 Comments

Photo
HIGHSnowman09
Nov 14 2012 06:06 AM
So when you play a vehicle unit you have to discard at least 1 card mandatory?
I don't have easily searchable rules but usually no. The bold Interrupt is something that you should have to trigger. In other LCGs if you had to perform this action they would have something like Forced on it or word it as a constant ability.
Photo
HIGHSnowman09
Nov 14 2012 06:21 AM
oh okay. cool. Thanks for the quick response. much appreciated. It's just the way it's worded that made me think that you had to. I'm used to magic saying "You may". lol
It doesn't say Forced so you don't have to do it. You can choose to use an Interrupt. It is on page 24 of the rulebook, page 19 of the black and white scan. Forced is on page 25, page 20 of the scan.
You can reduce the cost of the vehicle to a minimum of 1 force. You can't discard cards to pay for the entire thing. The discard is optional. At a minimum, you will need one force generated for each vehicle.
Photo
CorporalRutland
Aug 22 2013 01:02 PM
I had it put to me by a friend the other day when I had two of these in play that I should have reduced the cost by 2 per card discarded, not 1.

I pointed out that it's an Interrupt and that there can only be one Interrupt in play at any one time. Which card I chose was immaterial as the Interrupt can be replayed, but the point was that the effect did not stack. Indeed, there is actually less benefit to having two of these in play at the same time.

Correct?
The only benefit to having 2 of them is that you can use the 2nd interrupt if the effects from the first one are canceled somehow (currently, the DS has a way to cancel Defense of Yavin 4, but not the other way around that I can think of). You could choose to discard 1 card to each copy or 2 cards to 1 copy and end up with the same result...

The only benefit to having 2 of them is that you can use the 2nd interrupt if the effects from the first one are canceled somehow (currently, the DS has a way to cancel Defense of Yavin 4, but not the other way around that I can think of). You could choose to discard 1 card to each copy or 2 cards to 1 copy and end up with the same result...


Interesting. So what happens if you've declared playing a card with an interrupt reducer and the interrupt is cancelled and you a.) do b.) don't have other resources to play it?
If you do have the resources, you're obligated to pay and finish playing the card. If you don't have the resources, then you just put it back in your hand just like if you had accidentally revealed a card you couldn't pay for.
Photo
Rockstar819
Sep 09 2013 05:27 PM
I would have thought the card "fizzles" like in MTG and went to the discard.
Cool. Ye, coming from MTG among other things, this seems weird to me too (where a card being played can never be interrupted (counter spells doesn't prevent the fact that the card is played, only resolves)). Not that I don't take your word for it. I do. It's just weird :b
This is like the DS Defense of Yavin..but some of the card options in it are less than Stellar.

Good for a ramped up big unit deck though!
Is it for sure that its not possible to discard more cards that would push the cost bellow one, but pay the 1.

Yes/

The official answer from FFG was that you could discard any number of cards. However, if the vehicle only costs 1 you cannot use this ability at all.

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.