Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Confronting the Terror



Confronting the Terror

Confronting the Terror


Type: Event
Cost: 3
Force Icons: 3
Faction: Light Jedi
Force. Sense.
Interrupt: When damage is dealt to a friendly unit or objective, your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units and objectives he controls.
Block Number: 53 - 5 of 6
Set: Assault on Echo Base Number: 255
Illustrator: Dallas Williams
* * * - -   4 Jedi Knights have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 53
Recent Decks Using This Card:


11 Comments

how do you play this card?

let's have an example:
- devastator attacks one of my objectives and I have a unit for defense.
- when devastator strikes, DS player chooses the order in which he resolves combat icons.

I assume that "Confronting the Terror" only applies to one type of combat icon (unit or blast) not both. Am I right? So the LS player must choose which icons he will redirect.

And second part of my question:
When LS player chooses for example that he want's to redirect Devastators blast damage. Must the DS player damage his objectives or can he damage some units?

the cards says: "When damage is dealt to a friendly unit OR objective, your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units AND objectives he controls" (emphasis mine).
this tells me, that whatever combat icon LS redirects, DS can divide that damage anyway he wants.

how do you play this card?

let's have an example:
- devastator attacks one of my objectives and I have a unit for defense.
- when devastator strikes, DS player chooses the order in which he resolves combat icons.

I assume that "Confronting the Terror" only applies to one type of combat icon (unit or blast) not both. Am I right? So the LS player must choose which icons he will redirect.

And second part of my question:
When LS player chooses for example that he want's to redirect Devastators blast damage. Must the DS player damage his objectives or can he damage some units?

the cards says: "When damage is dealt to a friendly unit OR objective, your opponent must instead divide that damage among any number of units AND objectives he controls" (emphasis mine).
this tells me, that whatever combat icon LS redirects, DS can divide that damage anyway he wants.



Yes it only redirects one damage type and you must damage the type of card that could ordinarily be damaged by that damaged type. So if LS redirects blast damage you must damage objectives, units cannot be used to absorb blast damage as it does not apply to them.
I'm not really sure it is that clear. If you must DIVIDE the damage among any units AND objectives, it sounds like you can redirect damage of any type to anything as a generic form of damage. Otherwise, it would say to divide it among any units OR objectives he controls.

Toq, has there been an official rules clarification on this? I have yet to use this card, but I guarantee that the way you have explained it will be contested. No offense. Great podcast btw.
Yeah, I just found the thread on BGG that references Nate's clarification. The damage, no matter what it started as, can be divided among units and objectives without prejudice.
    • xXDarthBladeXx likes this

Yeah, I just found the thread on BGG that references Nate's clarification. The damage, no matter what it started as, can be divided among units and objectives without prejudice.


Link please ?
    • leizeQ and JonofPDX like this
Rule Question:
Confronting the Terror:

If I use this Interrupt to redirect blast damage, does that damage have to be applied to DS objectives or may it be placed on units?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

He divides the damage among "any number of units and objectives he controls."

Nate French
This card is powerful. But the 3 cost is a MAJOR drawback. You have to telegraph it. So a good player will see it coming from a mile away. I want to like this card but I'm just not impressed. :/
i think maybe the only acceptable time this can be used is on YOUR turn. attack and when they defend with their biggest unit, pop it then and make them spread 2-3 damage back onto their own units, otherwise you can see this mack truck coming a mile away. other than that its amazing edge fodder. single card in then pass and often times people think you've just twisted them and they pass too.
Photo
CarsonFlintlock
Oct 01 2013 10:35 PM
Well, when the game goes multi-player in Balance of the Force, this card will be alot more useful.
Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 01 2016 12:11 AM

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.