Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!




Type: Fate
Cost: 0
Force Icons: 2
Faction: Light Neutral
Place 1 shield on a target unit or objective.
Block Number: 53 - 6 of 6
Set: Assault on Echo Base Number: 256
Illustrator: Lukasz Jaskolski
* * * * *   1 Galactic Citizens have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 53
Recent Decks Using This Card:


Can you use this fate card to put a second shield on a unit?
Jul 21 2014 03:42 PM

No you can't, rules page 23 'A shield token may not be assigned to a unit that already has a shield token'.


There is a Rebel card whose name escapes me right now that does allow extra shields, but it specifically states so in the card text.

Our Most Desperate Hour, that comes in the Forgotten Heroes jedi pod.

Question: Can you place this shield on ANY unit or objective even if it's not participating in the engagement?


There is no "in this engagement" reference here. Obviously, Fate card shielding effect doesn't seem to be restricted per se, but i just wanted to see if there is room for interpretation here. I take it that you can place it to any unit/objective.


Rulebook says:

When a card with the “Shielding” keyword is declared 
as either attacker or defender, its controller may 
immediately place one shield token on any friendly 
unshielded participating unit, or to the engaged objective 
card, if unshielded.

Can't see a problem, you're simply putting a shield in play per the card's text, not following the rules from the shielding keyword.

    • mikado likes this
Yep, it can put a shield on any unit or objective that doesn't already have a shield. You'd could even target your opponent's unit or objective if you really wanted (and there are situations where you might want to do that).

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.