Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Ambush Platform


  • Darikgrey likes this

Ambush Platform

Ambush Platform


Type: Support
Faction: Tau
Cost: 2
Signature/Loyalty:
Traits: Upgrade.

Interrupt: When you deploy an attachment, reduce its cost by 1.
Combat Action: Exhaust this support to deploy an attachment from your hand.

Set: Core Set Number: 168 Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Nicholas Gregory
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


25 Comments

Seems to be overpriced, but probably too good at 1.

This card isn't great right now-- probably a two to three out of five-- because it overlaps too much with Commander Shadowsun's ability. However, when Tau get another Warlord that doesn't muscle in on this card's territory, I think it will be very widely played, and so I'm giving this one a four-- not for what it is now, but for what it will be in the future.

Photo
Lizrrdbreath
Aug 27 2014 11:41 PM

This is soooooo good. When you can deploy attachments by surprise during the combat phase you can screw up your opponents entire game plan. I've played games where these easily gave back threefold in resources and let me deploy a couple attachments on the fly a turn to units that could do serious damage.

Photo
AwesomeLion
Aug 28 2014 09:13 AM

A very powerful card. It's only weakness is that it relies on you having a unit in play and an attachment on hand. Within those confines it is an exceptionally powerful card within it's purpose. Timing can be essential on this one and game changing. 4/5 for being situational (relying on you having a unit on the board and an attachment on hand), though based on it's pure power outside those restriction, a solid 5/5

Would this be able to deploy a unit as an attachment if it states that it can be used as an attachment, like shadowsun's stealth cadre for instance.

Would this be able to deploy a unit as an attachment if it states that it can be used as an attachment, like shadowsun's stealth cadre for instance.

 

As far as I can tell, no. Every other instance of "deploy an attachment" does not allow you to to deploy the armies-that-can-be-attachments (e.g., Commander Shadowsun). Going by that, I'd assume their cost isn't reduced by this card either, even if they are played as attachments? I'm still pretty sure that once deployed, the pseudo-attachments count as attachments for all intents and purposes, though (Squadron Redeployment, Fire Warrior Strike Team etc.) - in essence, I guess the pseudo-attachments are attachments only after they've been deployed. I may be wrong, though.

As far as I can tell, no. Every other instance of "deploy an attachment" does not allow you to to deploy the armies-that-can-be-attachments (e.g., Commander Shadowsun). Going by that, I'd assume their cost isn't reduced by this card either, even if they are played as attachments? I'm still pretty sure that once deployed, the pseudo-attachments count as attachments for all intents and purposes, though (Squadron Redeployment, Fire Warrior Strike Team etc.) - in essence, I guess the pseudo-attachments are attachments only after they've been deployed. I may be wrong, though.


Well the other side to the argument for these army/attachment cards don't specify deploy, here's the shadowsun cadre's text:

"This card may enter play as an attachment with the text, “Attach to a non-Vehicle army unit. Attached unit gets +2 ATK and +2 HP.”"
Photo
Vermillionde
Sep 01 2014 04:48 PM

As far as I can tell, no. Every other instance of "deploy an attachment" does not allow you to to deploy the armies-that-can-be-attachments (e.g., Commander Shadowsun). Going by that, I'd assume their cost isn't reduced by this card either, even if they are played as attachments? I'm still pretty sure that once deployed, the pseudo-attachments count as attachments for all intents and purposes, though (Squadron Redeployment, Fire Warrior Strike Team etc.) - in essence, I guess the pseudo-attachments are attachments only after they've been deployed. I may be wrong, though.

 

Can you provide an example of this? Because "may enter play as an attachment" to me reads that when you are searching for an attachment that this card would qualify. 

Photo
AwesomeLion
Sep 01 2014 08:09 PM

The card needs to be defined as an attachment in its current place to be a legal target for something that targets an attachment.

 

Shadowsun's Stealth Cadre as an example is not an attachment card while in your deck, or hand (it's infact an army card), but once you have chosen to play it as an attachment card it becomes an attachment card type.

 

"If an ability causes a cardtype to change (such as a unit card that may be played as an attachment), it loses all other cardtypes it might possess and functions as would any card of the new type."
 
Page 5 of the Rules Reference booklet.
    • AegriSomnia likes this
What you quoted there seems to disprove what you were saying more than support it, respectfully.
    • Vermillionde likes this
Photo
AwesomeLion
Sep 02 2014 05:02 AM

Really? I feel like that just enhances it really. In my head, I would think Shadowsun's Stealth Cadre is not a attachment card until you PLAY it as an attachment card, but over here: http://www.cardgamed...mbush-platform/ PBrennan said otherwise and I tend to look at him/her as the ultimate authority on rules around here so now I'm just really unsure =p

Really? I feel like that just enhances it really. 

~

"If an ability causes a cardtype to change (such as a unit card that may be played as an attachment), it loses all other cardtypes it might possess and functions as would any card of the new type."

 

"This card may enter play as an attachment" Causes the card to lose its identity as an army if you put it in a situation where it can be played as an attachment.

 

"Exhaust this support to deploy an attachment from your hand."  Simply asks you to find a legal target, since this card can be played as an attachment it becomes a legal target for the card. So long as the card ENTERS PLAY as an attachment you're good to go, regardless of whether its an army, event or otherwise, which is the case for this and a slew of other Tau army/attachments.

 

I think what you're struggling with is that this card is not an attachment card but rather an army. If a card said "exhaust this support to take the topmost attachment card from your discard pile and put it into play." then I do not believe using Shadow Cadre or Gun Drones would be legal at all because it is not an attachment until it enters play.

well cadre says it can enter play as an attachment...its not it becomes attachment after u play it first...so ur actually playing an attachment card from the start so my verdict is that u can play them via ambush platform.... 

We need an official answer. Can anyone get one?

There is already one. Check out this thread (treat anything PBrennan says as basically official, he's the editor for the game):

http://www.cardgamed...mbush-platform/

Some months on, and I'd say its now clear that this is one of the Tau's key cards, with Shadowsun decks definitely needing 3x of them.

 

The discounting is a small (but cumulative) benefit, but the real power here is in the surprise plays and the flexibility. Got a swarm of Khymera dropping on you? Ambush Platform in Gun Drones onto your Vior'la Marksman! Bloodletter the problem? Make that an Ion Rifle!

 

Play and experience is telling us that the battle winning plays are the ones which happen during the combat phase, and while on paper it looks like this card needs too much coincidence of combo'd cards to work, in practice its actually more true that the command-strong Tau have no trouble drawing a tonne of cards and resources, but need means to transform that advantage into game win. Simply, Ambush Platform is that means.

    • Darikgrey and TheHiveTyrant like this

Dang! Using this with an Ion Rifle during the Ranged step can just be AMAZING...and now that I know this works with Shadowsun's Stealth Cadre and Gun Drones, too? Yeah, good stuff.

Photo
LucaGirolami
Jan 07 2015 05:19 PM

It takes some turn to gain its cost back (2 attachment played to break even or a 2cost+ ambushed), but the element of surprise is the mate of flexibility. In a Shadowsun deck there are no reason to include this support in less than 2 copies. Maybe in the future there'll be less need or slots.

Apart from cost, another minor issue is that this support doesn't generate card advantage (triiming down hand instead).

4/5

Photo
ChaoticRainbow
Aug 17 2015 09:18 PM

Does the cost reduction stack with multiple Ambush Platforms? For example: 2 Ambush Platforms on the table, does a 2 cost attachment now cost zero (-1 resource for each platform).

Does the cost reduction stack with multiple Ambush Platforms? For example: 2 Ambush Platforms on the table, does a 2 cost attachment now cost zero (-1 resource for each platform).


Yep.
How many attachments compared to Platforms should you run for this to be "worth it"?
Given you can search for them with ECT, and should have Gun Drones, and if running Shadowsun you have an extra 4 "attachments", I think you can get away with 6 or so - if you are looking to field 2-3 of these. Not counting Promotion, since it does nothing in combat bar protect from Warpstorm and costs nothing to begin with.

Outside of Shadowsun or Tau I'd go more risky on finding attachments (since you cramp other deck space otherwise) and go to 9 rather than more.

Instinct only mind, haven't mathed it out.
Photo
dnapolitano
Jun 27 2016 09:06 PM

Nine attachments non-Shadowsun seems right to me and is what I run in Baharroth.  Part of the decision of worth needs to include the ambush benefit, particularly with hunt decks where target units have low HP (e.g. Hawks and Wraithguard).  If ambush is a critical component to that deck then you may be able to run as low as 7 attachments.  Go any lower than that then I would look into other options to replace ambush, such as Even the Odds or Air Caste or Shuriken Catapult. 

    • Radix likes this

Nine attachments non-Shadowsun seems right to me and is what I run in Baharroth.  Part of the decision of worth needs to include the ambush benefit, particularly with hunt decks where target units have low HP (e.g. Hawks and Wraithguard).  If ambush is a critical component to that deck then you may be able to run as low as 7 attachments.  Go any lower than that then I would look into other options to replace ambush, such as Even the Odds or Air Caste or Shuriken Catapult. 

Thank you. I was actually looking at it for my Baharroth deck that I am building. It is the first real deck I am designing from scratch

One of the few powerful supports that you are happy to include x3, since the effect stacks and it hepls you to play your cards when you to play them.

 

4/5