Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Power from Pain


  • Fallenturtle likes this

Power from Pain

Power from Pain


Type: Event
Faction: Dark Eldar
Cost: 2
Shields: 1
Signature/Loyalty:
Traits: Power. Torture.

Combat Action: Your opponent must sacrifice an army unit, if able.
Their screams filled him with delight, their souls filled him with power.

Set: Core Set Number: 116 Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Mariusz Gandzel
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


22 Comments

One of the few outright kills we've seen so far. And this isn't even loyal. I expect it will be a staple card for many decks for quite some time.

Photo
Fallenturtle
Aug 22 2014 04:02 AM

The only question becomes does it have to be at the location the combat is happening at.. either way, a kill on a unit for the cost of 2 is never a bad thing in DE control.

Photo
Vermillionde
Aug 22 2014 12:58 PM

The only question becomes does it have to be at the location the combat is happening at.. either way, a kill on a unit for the cost of 2 is never a bad thing in DE control.

 

It doesn't need to be at that planet, it can be anywhere in play. Even an HQ. That would force him to make a tough decision if you already outnumber him on the table though. It's also worth noting that this is a combat action, so you couldn't use it to put the heat on your opponent during the command phase. 

This is one of those cards that looks great in theory but is not nowhere are good in practice, yes it is fantastic in some cases, but more often than not you will be trading this card for a 1-2 cost guy your opponent does not care about. Having played with it I do not believe it will not be a stable anytime soon. But can agree 100% that it looks really powerfull (the staple card is the one that routs, that one looks bad to start but is insane once you start to play it)

    • FedericoFasullo likes this

If your opponent only has one or two big units in play this is back breaking, because they've made huge investments in those units. Sure, you might only get a rogue trader or a token, but if you time it properly you can use this after you've just destroyed one of their chumps with an attack or what have you. Also, it's a "sacrifice" effect so if your opponent has someone like "Shrouded Harlequin" in play, he can't pick that unit and use the ability on it that triggers when it is "destroyed" - sacrificed =/= destroyed. (RRG pg. 14)

Photo
AwesomeLion
Aug 28 2014 05:58 AM

You can always narrow down on the opponents big guns by taking out their smaller guns in regular combat and then playing it. Circumstantial powerful 4/5

Worth noticing that tokens can not be sacrificed when this is played, since tokens are not Army Units. Makes it a tad stronger against those "A few Elites and a hord of tokens"-thingies.

    • MotoBuzzsawMF, Blinkkite, xraysteve and 2 others like this

This is one of those cards that looks great in theory but is not nowhere are good in practice, yes it is fantastic in some cases, but more often than not you will be trading this card for a 1-2 cost guy your opponent does not care about. Having played with it I do not believe it will not be a stable anytime soon. But can agree 100% that it looks really powerfull (the staple card is the one that routs, that one looks bad to start but is insane once you start to play it)

 

Actually, Power from Pain is easily as good as Archon's Terror. You use it when you can force a Magician's Choice on your opponent -- when all their choices are bad, you're coming out ahead. As AwesomeLion pointed out, you play this after you've cleared out their chaff -- that's what your Khymeras are for, after all.

Use when they only have one non-warlord unit. It helps against the turn one heldrake you'll see sometimes.

Because of the weenie horde(Rogue Traders/Void Pirates) in almost every deck I've seen, this card just isn't as good as I want it to be. Why pay 2 for your opponent to kill off a 1-cost weenie? Later in the evolution of this game, this card might be useful(the next DE warlord obviously), but for now it's not good enough to make the cut or splash in other factions. 

Great card that has yet to show it's full potential. Nontheless an auto-include for Urien. 4/5.

Photo
LucaGirolami
Jan 19 2015 09:56 PM

For now, you've to have the upper hand to makes this worth (or, at least, predict which unit will leave) and it doesn't help if your tied for the win.

For now (until Urien) 3/5.

Love the art. This card can hurt hard as I learnt last night, but I only play casually with my wife. Had to sacrifice my heavy hitters a couple of times.
Photo
FightingWalloon
May 03 2016 11:53 PM

Useless vs. Frenzied Bloodthirster

Useless vs. Frenzied Bloodthirster

This event doesn't target Bloodthirster but targets a player, so if bloodthirster is selected then by the player - it will be sacrificed, or am I missing something?

Photo
TheCountOfMonteFisto
May 20 2016 09:11 AM

This event doesn't target Bloodthirster but targets a player, so if bloodthirster is selected then by the player - it will be sacrificed, or am I missing something?

 

Curious to know about this also.

This event doesn't target Bloodthirster but targets a player, so if bloodthirster is selected then by the player - it will be sacrificed, or am I missing something?


On rule book page 8, it says "If a unit is immune to a specified set of effects, it cannot be targeted or affected by effects that belong to that set"

The effect of power from pain is having to sacrifice, in which the Bloodthirster is not an available unit for the effect.  This is how I read it anyway, they really need to FAQ this.

It can not affect Bloodthirster, but if the opponent has any other army units they would have to sacrifice one of them. It is the same scenario as stalwart ogryn which has already been answered here.

 

http://www.cardgamed...ower-from-pain/

Awfully situational.

 

2/5

Awfully situational.

 

2/5

This is an awesome card, but mostly, I just wanted to ask...

 

Bolo why you bringing up and posting in all core set/early cards in alphabetical order? It's crazytown :P

He said in a post loooooong ago (or three days ago) that he was going through all the Core Sets and judging the basic stuff.

    • Grimbo likes this

Actually:

 

(I review signature cards comparing to other signature cards)