Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Shrouded Harlequin



Shrouded Harlequin

Shrouded Harlequin


Type: Army Unit
Faction: Eldar
Cost: 2
Attack Value: 2
Hit Points: 1
Command Icons: 1
Signature/Loyalty:
Traits: Warrior.

Interrupt: When this unit is destroyed, exhaust a target enemy unit at a planet of your choice.
They wander from Craftworld to Craftworld recounting Eldar history in intricate performances.

Set: Core Set Number: 134 Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Michal Ivan
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


18 Comments

Being able to exhaust someone several planets away makes these guys powerful.

Does eldar have a reliable and good way to sacrifice this? Maybe a non-loyal ally card?

I think the best way is to just get it stuck into combat! Make sure this happens by putting it in with your warlord.

Once it is gone, it seems a good target for Gift of Isha for double usage.

Does eldar have a reliable and good way to sacrifice this? Maybe a non-loyal ally card?

Unfortunately, sacrificing a unit does not qualify as destroying it. (Rules Reference, page 14)

It's certainly counterintuitive and I think it will come up a few times as people learn the game.

If you are able to combine this with Starbane's council...you can put out a lot of hurt onto one unit.  Also important, you can use this card's ability to exhaust the enemy Warlord, preventing them from warlord-retreating until the end of that combat round.

Very decent card and effect altough not incredible as a 2 drop. 3/5.

It's not that great, because in combat, they just kill it last. It might be good protection against indirect damage or Area Effect I guess?

You can always lose it at an early planet to exhaust something at a later planet. Being killed last is not a drawback in that case.

No-one has mentioned it yet but Doom works nicely with him too, exhausting something to weaken them in combat and command at the same time.

You can always lose it at an early planet to exhaust something at a later planet. Being killed last is not a drawback in that case.

No-one has mentioned it yet but Doom works nicely with him too, exhausting something to weaken them in combat and command at the same time.

 Especially since this can still be the warlord.  You could probably heavily upset the other player by not only wiping out all of their HQ units, but also exhausting their warlord making them rethink their commitment.  They would still auto-win command struggles at planets you didn't also commit your warlord, but they would be vulnerable to all damage for at least one round of combat.

Warlord only auto-wins command if he is not exhausted iirc, so its even better than that!

Sadly, he can't exhaust unit in HQ

Since HQ isn't a planet, fair point. But you can still exhaust a singleton that is winning command for the opponent, that alone makes a good combo with Doom.

I'm rethinking to include this in my current Eldorath Deck. It is a strong counter to Plaguebeast , AE and Orc Cannon i.e. Also it might protect your units from single warlord sniping. And doom might make it back into the deck as well. Right now i have to choose between this and Farseer.

I include 2x of this guy in my Eldorath build for the reasons listed above. Many eldar units float around the 2hp range making AoE and cards like ork kannon or gleeful plaguebeast quite hard hitting. This guy helps me to balance those effects when they hit me by allowing me to exhaust... well, anyone! Many a time I've bloodied a careless warlord thanks to this card's effect. I don't have to look too hard to find a slot or two for this guy in my eldar decks.

If Eldar had better access to self-destruction, I think this card could be quite playable. As it is, you're relying on your opponent's moves (be they ork kannon or attack) to be able to trigger the ability, and a careful and skilled opponent isn't going to get his warlord caught out in the way you describe.

 

The best play for this card is to drop it on Planet 1, exhaust an opposing warlord upstream, then catch that warlord with a Gift of Isha unit, or if we're in a Dark Eldar deck, a Klaivex Warleader. However, Eldar / DE / Tau all lack the breadth of ambush options to make that a consistent strategy, and again its dependent on enemy warlord commit - if they see you sending a Harlequin to planet 1, they have the opportunity to be aware of this trick and to avoid it.

 

If only it triggered on leaving play, there might be room for it in the Craftworld Gate deck. As it is, its a weak ability on a weak card, and I don't think it makes the cut in any tournament worthy Eldar, Tau or Dark Eldar deck. 

Photo
dnapolitano
Sep 14 2015 05:44 PM

I play this in Baharroth as planet 1 prey deploy/commit draw and Warlord protection.  With highly mobile units on the board and this at planet 1 I can force a warlord commit to planet 1 or some higher level commitment of troops by opponent there.  Both help weaken the other player's command game and the latter pairs well with Doom. 

 

All that aside, the exhaust effect I use for downstream Baharroth play.  In a deck running Foretell and Tense negotiations, my warlord is typically on or mobiling to a planet already exhausted.  Shrouded Harlequin death allows me to exhaust the command unit of my opponent's at that planet so they don't get a free attack and I can cut them down with a hawk.  Alongside mobility, cry of the wind, seers exodus, and the TN/Foretell mentioned above, I find the culmination to offer great snipe protection and planet control.

 

Less frequent events include 1) a retreat from planet 1 followed by next turn Doom that can exhaust a command unit 2) warlord exhaust followed by Gift of Isha 3) an actual attack of 2 during battle because opponent avoids targeting unit during battle.

 

Rarely to never does this unit result in exhausting a ready unit at the current battle

If Eldar had better access to self-destruction, I think this card could be quite playable. As it is, you're relying on your opponent's moves (be they ork kannon or attack) to be able to trigger the ability, and a careful and skilled opponent isn't going to get his warlord caught out in the way you describe.

 

The best play for this card is to drop it on Planet 1, exhaust an opposing warlord upstream, then catch that warlord with a Gift of Isha unit, or if we're in a Dark Eldar deck, a Klaivex Warleader. However, Eldar / DE / Tau all lack the breadth of ambush options to make that a consistent strategy, and again its dependent on enemy warlord commit - if they see you sending a Harlequin to planet 1, they have the opportunity to be aware of this trick and to avoid it.

 

If only it triggered on leaving play, there might be room for it in the Craftworld Gate deck. As it is, its a weak ability on a weak card, and I don't think it makes the cut in any tournament worthy Eldar, Tau or Dark Eldar deck. 

 

totaly disagree about Tau using this card and specialy Aunshi - jest put Shrouder on planet 1, exhaust enemy warlord -> kayon strike and watch warlord bleed

    • ChaoticRainbow likes this

totaly disagree about Tau using this card and specialy Aunshi - jest put Shrouder on planet 1, exhaust enemy warlord -> kayon strike and watch warlord bleed


Exactly, i think he has a place in Hunt builds (Aun'shi/Urien).