Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Company of the Cat

Company of the Cat

Company of the Cat

Type: Character House: Targaryen
Cost: 4 Strength: 4 Icons: Military,Intrigue
Game Text:
Army. Mercenary.
House Targaryen only. Ambush.
Response: After Company of the Cat is put into play through a card effect, draw 1 card.
Flavor Text: Bloodbeard, the savage commander of the Cats, was a roaring giant with a ferocious appetite for slaughter...
Number: 95 Set: THoBaW
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: David A. Nash
Recent Decks: Targaryen-KotHH
Shadows and Ambush
Targaryen KotHH Ambush Burn - Please Comment! v2
Fuego 1
Targ Conquest Stark - Freezer Burn


Awesome name xD

Hm. makes me wanna play Targ KoTHH to be able to ambush it and with Ambush from the Plains (QoD) for additional combat tricks and draw.
Sep 27 2012 12:54 PM
Targ Ambush is starting to get some real heavy hitters
Sep 28 2012 01:25 AM
Playing it via Ambush would not be playing it via card effect though no?

Still a fairly nice 4/4 Mercenary....looking at a Targ/Lannister Merc alliance deck at this point.
Ambush puts it into play and it is a card effect. So I would consider it triggering its own ability if ambushed. Feels like that's the whole intention with the card :s
Sep 28 2012 09:26 PM
If multiple copies of this card in play can they all trigger their response when a new copy of this card is played? So if 2 copies of this card are played with ambush 3 cards could be drawn.
No, since it's a self-referential ability it only works with this particular copy of the card.
and because you can only trigger one effect from a single action
I kind of like having the possibility of using Manning the city walls with this card, you get an army with an intrigue icon plus you get to draw a card.
Dec 10 2012 08:50 PM

and because you can only trigger one effect from a single action

I believe you are allowed multiple responses per trigger if they are on different cards. If the cards text read "RESPONSE: After a character comes into play draw a card" (haha which would be ridiculous i know but just for example) After playing a character you could trigger the response on each company of the cat.
Dec 11 2012 06:17 AM
While the Prince is correct that you can have multiple triggers from a single action, theCrow is still "more" correct to the question at hand. A self-referential card will only trigger on itself. Not with another copy or with an opponent's. The "one trigger per effect" is actually a very misleading notion. I think it would be more correctly worded as "a response can only be triggered once per action." The first wording implies that I can't use 2 different Parting Blow (PotS) events from the same character leaving play. When in fact I absolutely can.

If I have Maegi Crone (BtW) and The Brazen Beasts (ARotD) in play and reduce an opponent's character to 0, I can trigger the draw from the Crone and the power claim of the Brazen Beast. What I cannot do is repeatedly trigger the Crone to the same burn effect. That's where the "one response per trigger" came about, but it's not as clear as it should be.
    • jackmerridew likes this
Dec 11 2012 07:10 AM
Agreed, I was not agruing that fact, the crow was right there. I was adressing what clarky said as an unrelated matter.
    • slothgodfather likes this