Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -



Unique Penny

Type: Character House: Lannister
Cost: 1 Strength: 1 Icons: Intrigue
Game Text:
Ally. Fool.
Challenges: Kneel Penny to choose a character without attachments. The controller of that character chooses to either kneel that character or choose and discard 1 card from his or her hand.
Flavor Text: Despite the horrors Penny had suffered, she remained somehow trusting.
Number: 24 Set: VD
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Kip Ayers
Recent Decks: HoD Tunnels + Kneel - Feedback Please!
Lanni Kneel
PBTT Lannister Intrigue/kneel
lanni - conquest martel
Lion's Gate v2


Now I like the potential of this card. But, does this suffer from the same issue as Sorrowful Man, where they can choose to discard a card, even with an empty hand?
Jun 16 2012 03:06 AM
It sure does. A one gold Unique character though, it's worth the risk. Cannon foder if nothing else with an awesome ability.
Jun 16 2012 04:28 AM
For 1 cost I think it is a pretty decent ability. The only time the choose part is an issue is if the have no cards. If you are doing right you are the cause of their empty hand and she is money well spent.
This is hardly like the Sorrowful Man in terms of wording, I think. The Sorrowful Man simply doesn't work while Penny will work until their hand is empty. I think that this phrasing was intentional while SM was poorly worded. I think Penny is a good card and Sorrowful Man will never get played until errated.
So if The Laughing Storm (GotC) is standing and a character controlled by the same player that controls TLS is chosen by Penny, can he choose to discard (so basically ignore Penny) or is he forced to kneel said character?
They would have to kneel that character since discarding is not a legal option for them.
How is that different from choosing to discard, when your hand is empty?
Aug 08 2013 07:43 PM
I would say the difference is the "cannot" aspect of Laughing Storm. If something "cannot" be done, you do not get to even attempt it. So if TLS is standing, you cannot chose to discard a card from your hand, because you cannot discard a card from your hand.

The ability to chose to discard a card from your hand, even if your hand is empty, is because of the way Penny is worded. She allows you to make a choice, but neither has to be successful.

However, if TLS is standing, his "cannot" makes it to where you cannot chose to discard a card - regardless of your hand size.
Well, you cannot discard a card from your hand, if there are no cards in your hand. It is just not a "cannot" that's written somewhere in rules or on a card. But it still cannot be done.

edit: did some googling - http://community.fan...laughing-storm/
Aug 08 2013 10:22 PM
Ah, excellent reference Crow. Thanks!

For those not wanting to read through that all of posts, TLS does not - in fact - prohibit you from choosing to discard a card from your hand. TLS does protect that card from being discarded. So Penny is useless against an opponent with TLS standing.