Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Castle Black



Castle Black

Unique Castle Black



Type: Location House: Neutral
Cost:2
Game Text:
The North.
Response: After you play a Night's Watch character from your hand, reduce the cost of the next Night's Watch character you play this phase by 1.
Number: 15 Set: WotN
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: Franz Miklis
Recent Decks: Army of the North
NW Stannis
House Stark Night's Watch v3
Stark Night's Watch
Melee Martell NW


7 Comments

Photo
Devastazione
Mar 26 2012 08:41 PM
How does this work exactly ?...If I keep playing NW charcters from my hand do they come down at 0 eventually ?
No. Let's look at it like this. You play Jon Snow (Core) and he reduces the next Night's Watch you play by 1. So let's say you play Lost Ranger (RotO) next. He is reduced by 1 to 0. He also reduces the next Night's Watch you play by 1. So you play Maester Aemon (Core) next and he is reduced by 1 to 1. Pretty much the next Night's Watch character you play uses the reduction but creates a new reduction for the next Night's Watch.
    • tehflash, Devastazione and Pope1777 like this
Photo
Devastazione
Mar 29 2012 09:53 AM
Ok, Thanks a lot.
Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 30 2013 02:47 PM
When combined with The Wall (TWoW), after a Bara character enters play you'd be able to trigger Castle Black, but only to bring in an actual Night's Watch character from hand since Bara characters only gain the trait the moment they enter play.

If I play a Night's Watch character as a duplicate, does this still trigger? I'm thinking it does because when I am playing it "from my hand" it has the Night's Watch trait and does not become a duplicate until it is attached to the character in play?

No, it does not trigger. Duplicates enter play as duplicates. (If they entered play as characters, and only became duplicates after being attached/entering play, you'd be breaking the rules that say you cannot play another copy of the unique character.) You are considered to be playing a duplicate, not a character.

Ok, thanks for the clarification. So I guess that means that playing Old Bear's Crow as a duplicate doesn't trigger Samwell either. Damn it.