Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Venomous Blade



Venomous Blade



Type: Attachment House: Martell
Cost:0
Game Text:
Restricted
Weapon.
House Martell only.
After Venomous Blade comes out of Shadows, attach it to a character you control. Then, choose and kill an opponent's character with printed STR 2 or less.
Response: After you lose a challenge, Venomous Blade goes into Shadows.
Crest: Shadow
Number: 115 Set: TBoBB
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Michael J. Williams
Recent Decks: Martel Quentyn Melee
MyMartellDeck v2
martell sof mk2
Another Quentyn Martell Deck!
Lannister City of Shadows


14 Comments

this card, is so great...
And that's why so restricted ;)
Photo
Wolfbrother
Apr 19 2014 07:28 PM
don't care if its restricted these new prized cards are gonna get murdered next tiem i play.

If the character venomous blade attached to is moribund, does it mean that venomous is also moribund?

Can I choose the char it is attached to as military claim then trigger venomous to go back into shadows?

If the character venomous blade attached to is moribund, does it mean that venomous is also moribund?

Can I choose the char it is attached to as military claim then trigger venomous to go back into shadows?

No, it will get discarded without any chance to put it back in shadows.

I'm not sure that's right. Here's what the FAQ says:

 

In other words, a Moribund card is considered
to have left play but is physically still in play
and retains its abilities (including attachments
and their abilities) and is allowed to interact
with the game as normal until it is finally (and
physically) placed in the discard/dead pile or
returned to hand/deck during Step 6 of the
action window.
 
I believe you can trigger VB back to shadows in this case.
 
Edit: Never mind! I was wrong. I can't believe I'm still learning rules for this game.
Photo
slothgodfather
Oct 27 2014 03:55 PM

The trouble is power and attachments on a character that has become moribund will immediately become moribund as well.  This is why there is no opportunity to use the VB's response, because by the time you get to Step 5 (responses) it is already moribund.

Photo
ScionMattly
Oct 28 2014 01:10 PM

The bit I'm always confused is when the "After you lose a challenge" response is triggered. Challenge frameworks always elude me for some reason. Is it triggered after claim, and therefore you cannot bounce the dagger and then kill the guy it was on?

The bit I'm always confused is when the "After you lose a challenge" response is triggered. Challenge frameworks always elude me for some reason. Is it triggered after claim, and therefore you cannot bounce the dagger and then kill the guy it was on?

That's correct. The end of challenge steps are:

 

Claim

Renown

Deadly

Other Passives

Responses

 

As you can see, by the time you get to responses, you'll have to have paid the claim already. Since attachments go moribund passively when the card they attach to leaves play, your attachment would be moribund:discard if your character died to claim or deadly (or indeed another response like Danaerys Targaryen or No Quarter). Since we can't change the moribund destination of cards, you can't trigger its response to go to shadows. 

 

Of course, you CAN choose the attached character for claim; you'll just have to discard the attachment too.

Photo
slothgodfather
Oct 28 2014 03:55 PM

Since OKTarg brought up other responses, I have to mention this scenario:  Assume u have VB attached to a character and you have lost a MIL challenge.  You pick a different character to die and don't save them.  They become moribund:dead pile.  When the timing reaches Responses, the first player may choose to trigger a response first.  IF you are first player, you can choose to trigger VB's ability to return to shadows first before your opponent has time to play No Quarter.  You alternate triggering responses until both players pass.    

 

Also note that Dany's kill ability says "no attachments" so she couldn't pick a character that has VB attached.

Careful when you say "power becomes moribund" because it does not.  It is available for stealing by other card effects while the card it's on is moribund, but the power itself is not actually moribund like attachments would be.  If it were, then card effects could not take that power.

 

Power simply gets discarded in step 6 once the card it's on leaves play.

 

The same applies to gold tokens on a moribund card.  You can spend them and move them around using card effects while the card it's on is moribund, which would not be possible if the tokens themselves were already "on their way out".

Photo
slothgodfather
Oct 28 2014 09:59 PM

Bah, I've officially hit the limit of things I can keep in my head for this game as i seem to be forgetting things I've already known - and likely explained to someone else already.  Thanks for the clarification Bomb.

How would scurvy cutthroat work with this card?

Example: Martell reveals VB and chooses to target Scurvy.  Does scurvy interrupt at the "Then" in VB or does VB completely resolve before he has the option to be discarded to remove the attachment?

Actually, VB is not played, it entered play, so Scurvy cannot interact with it.