Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Maester Luwin



  • Type: Character
  • Faction: Stark
  • Cost: 3
  • Icons: IntriguePower
  • Strength: 2
  • Maester.
  • While you control:
    -Robb Stark, he gains insight.
    -Jon Snow, he gains stealth.
    -Bran Stark, he gains: “immune to opponents’ plot effects.”
    -Rickon Stark, he gains pillage.



  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 3
  • Illustrator: Joshua Cairós
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


25 Comments

Photo
chilligreen
Nov 24 2015 01:42 PM

Ok really obvious question but just clarifying early on for the avoidance of doubt. When a card like this says 'he gains' is that Robb Stark gains, or Maester Luwin gains? I would assume the other character, not the Maester, and it makes more sense thematically that the Maester teaches other people things.

You are correct. Just like if you have Bran out, Summer gives him insight.

Photo
theamazingmrg
Nov 24 2015 02:41 PM

The thing with Luwin's text is that he never references himself and his text box is basically four individual clauses:

 

- While you control Robb Stark, he gains Insight.

- While you control Jon Snow, he gains Stealth., etc.

 

Taking each of those clauses separately indicates that the gained abilities refer to the named characters, not Luwin.  If Luwin was the target of those gained abilities, his text should be something along the lines of "While you control Robb Stark, gain Insight."

 

That said, official clarification would be nice because we'll have the exact same questions with Septa Mordane!

The thing with Luwin's text is that he never references himself and his text box is basically four individual clauses:

 

- While you control Robb Stark, he gains Insight.

- While you control Jon Snow, he gains Stealth., etc.

 

Taking each of those clauses separately indicates that the gained abilities refer to the named characters, not Luwin.  If Luwin was the target of those gained abilities, his text should be something along the lines of "While you control Robb Stark, gain Insight."

 

That said, official clarification would be nice because we'll have the exact same questions with Septa Mordane!

 

No official clarification needed. Nobody was asking this with Summer, which is worded the same way (while you control bran stark, he gains insight). In all of these cases the pronoun is replacing the nearest prior noun.

Photo
theamazingmrg
Nov 24 2015 03:01 PM

No official clarification needed. Nobody was asking this with Summer, which is worded the same way (while you control bran stark, he gains insight). In all of these cases the pronoun is replacing the nearest prior noun.

I had no doubt that was how it worked, but you know the same questions will be asked regardless.  Pointing people to an official response is a nice way to avoid an argument!

Photo
daviduk2000
Nov 25 2015 12:36 AM
Also on the flip side Left and right states themselves in name as getting benefits.
Right says
"While you controls left, right gains +1 Str ..."
It's a clear format and I don't understand the confusion myself.
    • theamazingmrg likes this

Lol at Rickon pillaging anything.

Photo
GalacticTaco
Nov 25 2015 04:36 AM

So, which plots would Bran be unaffected by with Luwin on the board? 

Wildfire Assault and Filthy Accusations are the easy ones. Pretty straightforward.

But after reading the rules for Immune (page 9)  it's not so clear cut for me regarding certain plots...

I assume Fortified Position would blank Luwin's buff and hence affect Bran. Is this correct? 

How does that work with Marched to the Wall or Jousting Contest?

The short answer to which plots Bran would be unaffected by is, "All of them."

 

"Immune" means that the immune card cannot be targeted or affected by the effects of whatever they are immune to. So "immune to plots" means that any plot that tries to hit the immune card directly cannot do so.

 

The tricky part for a lot of people is trying to figure out whether the plot is hitting the card directly. The easiest way to determine that is to look for the subject in the sentence of the ability text. For example, Bran is a character, so any plot that says, "Characters gain...," "Kneel a character...," "Choose a character...," or something similar cannot make Bran gain, kneel, be chosen, etc. But he would NOT be immune to a plot that says something like, "Players cannot declare characters..." because that is limiting and/or hitting the player, not the character.

 

As you say, Wildfire and Filthy are fairly straightforward. Bran would also be immune to Marched (which specifically chooses and discards characters), but not Jousting Contest (which says each player cannot declare more than one character -- it applies to players, not characters, so the player would need to be immune, not the character).

 

I'm too lazy to look through all the plots and create a comprehensive list, but that's the main point -- look for plots that try to do something directly to characters. Those are the ones Bran is immune to.

As you say, Wildfire and Filthy are fairly straightforward. Bran would also be immune to Marched (which specifically chooses and discards characters), but not Jousting Contest (which says each player cannot declare more than one character -- it applies to players, not characters, so the player would need to be immune, not the character).

 

Following that then, is the player free to select Bran for Marched which will then be unable to resolve?

Photo
chilligreen
Nov 25 2015 10:24 AM

I assume Fortified Position would blank Luwin's buff and hence affect Bran. Is this correct? 

How does that work with Marched to the Wall or Jousting Contest?

 

That's probably the main question left to clear up - I would assume that as it's a passive effect it blanks Luwin and so also blanks Bran.

 

Really like this guy thematically. One of my favourited themed builds from 1st Ed was a Stark Family deck with the children, their wolves, Ned, Catelyn and then a few household members. This guy fits in perfectly.

Following that then, is the player free to select Bran for Marched which will then be unable to resolve?

 

You cannot select a card as a target for an effect for which it is immune (as far as i know).

Photo
theamazingmrg
Nov 25 2015 11:01 AM

Lol at Rickon pillaging anything.

I don't know, he's a young child being raised by a Wilding and a Direwolf!  He's pretty savage.  I think it's not too much of stretch to see him pillaging!

Photo
chilligreen
Nov 25 2015 11:07 AM

You cannot select a card as a target for an effect for which it is immune (as far as i know).

 

You could still select him for your own Marched to the Wall don't forget, Luwin is only opponent's plots.

I assume Fortified Position would blank Luwin's buff and hence affect Bran. Is this correct? 

 

That's probably the main question left to clear up - I would assume that as it's a passive effect it blanks Luwin and so also blanks Bran.

 

Yes. While technically Bran would be immune to Fortified Position, Luwin isn't. As soon as Luwin is blanked, Bran loses his immunity, so Fortified Position blanks him, too.

 

Following that then, is the player free to select Bran for Marched which will then be unable to resolve?

 

 

Remember that immunity says that the immune card cannot be affected or targeted by whatever it is immune to. So no, you could not choose Bran as a target for Marched (and then not discard him). Your other characters cannot hide behind the immune one.

Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Nov 28 2015 09:40 PM

So how do Luwin and Bran interact with Wildfire, exactly? If I select Luwin and two others to keep for Wildfire, but not Bran, he still remains because he's immune, right? But what if I select neither Luwin nor Bran? Do they both die, or can I choose to try to resolve Bran's kill first, fail, then kill Luwin but not lose Bran because I've already tried to kill him once?

Photo
Abyssalfury
Nov 28 2015 09:59 PM

So how do Luwin and Bran interact with Wildfire, exactly? If I select Luwin and two others to keep for Wildfire, but not Bran, he still remains because he's immune, right? But what if I select neither Luwin nor Bran? Do they both die, or can I choose to try to resolve Bran's kill first, fail, then kill Luwin but not lose Bran because I've already tried to kill him once?

 

Yes, Bran doesn't need to be one of your three for Wildfire. It doesn't matter if you don't save Luwin - everyone would be chosen and die at the same time, not one by one. Bran would be immune until after Luwin is already dead.

I think this would be more nedly if it gave Robb intimidate, Bran insight, and Rickon plot immunity (because everyone forgets he exists, and therefore don't target him).

For wildfire assault, if you don't pick Bran or Maester Luwin as your three, would Bran survive?

I think this would be more nedly if it gave Robb intimidate, Bran insight, and Rickon plot immunity (because everyone forgets he exists, and therefore don't target him).

 

I remember seeing Rickon when he shows up at the Crypts of Winterfell and I said, "... Who is that?" I was watching with my girlfriend, who had already watched through the series, and she said it was Bran's little brother. "Bran has a little brother? When did that happen?" He's really pretty forgettable. Plot immunity would indeed make sense. 

Photo
PatrickHaynes
Dec 17 2015 08:21 PM

I think this would be more nedly if it gave Robb intimidate, Bran insight, and Rickon plot immunity (because everyone forgets he exists, and therefore don't target him).

But Luwin doesn't teach Robb to intimidate, he teaches him to be insightful and to learn and to be cautious and wise. The Pillage however makes zero sense as far as I can tell. I would have preferred it gave Rickon "Immune to events". That would have been more thematic and probably solid on him. But I imagine the rick on card will interact with the discard pile in some way and pillage will be useful. At least I hope so.

Rickon having pillage makes sense to me, he is an angry kid, his emotional outbursts are channelled through his direwolf Shaggydog.

Photo
theamazingmrg
Dec 18 2015 11:35 AM

I think this would be more nedly if it gave Robb intimidate, Bran insight, and Rickon plot immunity (because everyone forgets he exists, and therefore don't target him).

I've never forgotten Rickon exists.  He's the only Stark child likely to be reign as Lord of a rebuilt Winterfell.  I actually think he'll be very important to the future of Westeros (albeit not likely before the end of the series).  

 

People do forget Rickon because he's a toddler!  But they shouldn't!

I want the 2.0 Rickon to be an absolute badass.

    • uPoHu4Hu9 and Machination like this