Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition


Search for Cards
Text:
Order By:
More Search Options
Type:
Faction:
Set:

Unique:
Loyalty:
Restricted:
Cost:
Strength:
Icons:
Reserve:
Income:
Initiative:
Claim:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Oldtown Informer
****-

Mar 20 2019 08:41 PM by jumbles

No.

 

"Event cards and agenda cards implicitly interact with the game from an out of play area, as established by the rules of their cardtypes" (RRp2).

 

"Unless the ability that puts it into play also changes its cardtype to a cardtype that is permitted in play, an event card cannot enter play" (RRp7).

Someone Always Tells
****-

Mar 19 2019 10:43 PM by jumbles

Yes.

Someone Always Tells
****-

Mar 18 2019 02:13 PM by phuizenga1

if you have the gold when it's needed, can you cancel Valar Morg from going off with this?

Oldtown Informer
****-

Mar 16 2019 05:24 PM by bronzeyohnnoice

Do events count as "a card that enters play during the challenges phase?" 

Fortified Position
****-

Mar 05 2019 10:22 PM by jumbles

This card's ability does not affect cards in the Dead Pile.

 

"Card abilities only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the ability text specifically refers to an out of play area or element" (RRp2).

Fortified Position
****-

Mar 05 2019 05:10 PM by Palpa

Can "Desert Raider" be triggered from deadpile when the plot is active?

Aegon Targaryen
-----

Feb 04 2019 08:05 PM by Shuwar

Yes, his ability creates a lasting effect that will resolve regardless of whether Aegon is still in play or is blanked.

Aegon Targaryen
-----

Feb 04 2019 04:36 AM by Haodrogen

If Aegon were to be removed from play or the abilities muted, would the character still be bounce back to hand?

Heir to the Iron Throne
-----

Feb 02 2019 08:31 PM by Shuwar

(...) if you don’t put into play the char, you aren’t going to sacrifice anyone.

That is correct, according to the unofficial FAQ we get.

Silence
*****

Jan 15 2019 10:09 PM by jumbles

Yes, you could use Silence to put Jade Sea Dromond into play the same round you marshaled another Limited location. The "Limited" entry of the Rules Reference states, "Limited cards that are 'put into play' via card effects ignore and are ignored by this restriction."

Karhold
*****

Jan 15 2019 09:27 PM by Lykle

Very nice Tyrell blocker.

Banished from the Light
-----

Jan 14 2019 08:10 PM by prancngPWNy

I think this entry has a mistake - this card does not have the R'hllor trait.

Valyrian’s Crew
-----

Jan 14 2019 03:06 PM by prancngPWNy

From ThronesDB:

 

Rules FAQ

  • Cards attached facedown to Valyrian’s Crew are not considered to have any attribute except for the attachment card type and the terminal keyword.
  • If you sacrifice a facedown attachment on Valyrian’s Crew due to Trading with Qohor, there are no eligible targets to find as it has no printed cost.
  • If Valyrian’s Crew’s textbox is blanked, the attachments remain.
  • If you take control of your opponent's Valyrian's Crew, you do not take control of any facedown cards already attached to it. However, you can still look at those cards, and marshal or play them.
5 months ago
Silence
*****

Jan 12 2019 07:13 AM by Dopie
No, the part before the 'then' must be satisfied in order for the part after the 'then' to trigger.
Silence
*****

Jan 11 2019 12:34 PM by estoy

Is it possible to use Silence's action only to stand Euron or am I obligated to put a Warship location every time before the standing effect?

 

if you don't put a Warship into play the  "Then, if you control Euron Crow’s Eye," effect can not be resolved, so you need the warship to stand him.

 

 

diffrent question when I marshal a Limited Location can I use the Silence to put a Jade Sea Dromond into play the same round?

Silence
*****

Jan 09 2019 01:39 AM by HereticD

I would say no because in text of silence word "then" marks that those 2 effects are tied. Which means first effect has to resolve completely for second part to resolve. Check the discussion about heir to the iron throne, it's a similar wording.

Westwatch-by-the-Bridge
-----

Jan 08 2019 08:41 PM by LordofWeston

Ignore my previous question...I misread the card.  You need a knelt location card to use this card.  It looks like this has good synergy with the Wall.  Could this be used in the marshalling phase to try to double dip with Underground Vault? Kneel Underground Vault and collect gold. Then kneel Westwatch to stand Underground Vault. Then kneel Underground Vault again?

Westwatch-by-the-Bridge
-----

Jan 08 2019 04:59 PM by LordofWeston

This card seems to be extremely useful in a location-heavy NW deck.  Especially with some of the builder cards that give the characters extra icons and some that get +1 gold for every 3 locations you control.  Does "choose & stand" mean that I can choose any location in my deck (pending it meets the cost parameters) and stand it for free? 

 

I tried to use this card on the online game, but am having problems finding the right action window to use it.  Are there specific action windows when I am allowed to kneel this card?  I was experimenting with it and each time I knelt it, I got the bubble that said I was kneeling it outside an action window.

Heir to the Iron Throne
-----

Jan 08 2019 11:43 AM by Jaquen

Agreed with this statement. Because the "Search" and "Shuffle" had already been initiated and it did not say whether or not that a Lord or Lady character have to be successfully put in play. But the sentence "Then, sacrifice a Lord or Lady character." is the last condition for this plot to resolve should you have Lord or Lady character in play.


This is wrong: the effect explicitly say “and put it into play”. So, if you don’t put into play the char, you aren’t going to sacrifice anyone.
A Pinch of Powder
-----

Jan 07 2019 11:25 PM by Shuwar

You attach this in the action window before the challenge resolution, so by the time you can use its reaction it is already in play and the character bounces back to hand.

Tywin’s Stratagem
****-

Jan 07 2019 11:04 PM by prancngPWNy

Do both players need to have an eligible character? What if you don't have a 2 coster but your opponent does?

Reckless
-----

Jan 07 2019 09:29 PM by prancngPWNy

Does the attached character require the challenge icon to be declared as a defender?

Victarion Greyjoy
-----

Jan 05 2019 08:16 PM by Longstreet

I'm surprised no one has commented on this card yet. I have played against it a lot lately and for me it seems so over-powered as to be almost game breaking. Anyone feel the same ? It doesn't even have a limit on it !!

Crone of Vaes Dothrak
****-

Jan 04 2019 09:30 AM by Haodrogen
If a unique character is placed into deadpile by this effect, what happen to the same unique character that is on the field?
Heir to the Iron Throne
-----

Jan 01 2019 06:49 PM by Haodrogen

Whenever 'search' is applied, you are free to not find anything - but the search still happens. So it wouldn't really matter to what 'then' refers to, and you'd have to sacrifice a character.
 

Agreed with this statement. Because the "Search" and "Shuffle" had already been initiated and it did not say whether or not that a Lord or Lady character have to be successfully put in play. But the sentence "Then, sacrifice a Lord or Lady character." is the last condition for this plot to resolve should you have Lord or Lady character in play.