Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Admiral Ackbar



Admiral Ackbar

♦ Admiral Ackbar


Type: Unit
Cost: 3
Force Icons: 3
Icons: 2
Faction: Light Rebel Alliance
Character. Leader.
Action: During an engagement, play this unit from your hand as a participating unit on your side.
Reaction: After this unit enters play during an engagement, deal 1 damage to each participating enemy unit.
Health: 2
Block Number: 12 - 2 of 6
Set: Core Number: 0007
Illustrator: Andrew Olson
* * * * *   7 Rebel Sympathizers have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 12
Recent Decks Using This Card:


13 Comments

I realize Ackbar's already a pretty text-heavy card, but come on! Where is his flavor text?
    • BrianV and CataractCowboy like this

I realize Ackbar's already a pretty text-heavy card, but come on! Where is his flavor text?


"It's a Trap!." - Admiral Ackbar
    • BrianV, Alaka and SammyBoyFTW like this
We're all going to say it every time we play him anyway. I use the same line when I play a trap card on a runner in Android: Netrunner.
He looks angry. I didn't know lobster people could look angry.
Photo
whoisdialogue
Jan 07 2013 04:24 AM
Actually Ackbar's a fish-man. One of two aquatic races from the planet Mon Calamari. *pushes glasses up* :)
Uh, that's no fish-man - it's clearly a squid-man.

Uh, that's no fish-man - it's clearly a squid-man.


No the Quarren are the squid-men.
Is Ackbar free when played during the engagement? Our group thought no, but I've read a couple mentions online claiming one of his benefits is coming on the table for free.

Is Ackbar free when played during the engagement? Our group thought no, but I've read a couple mentions online claiming one of his benefits is coming on the table for free.


No as he is PLAYED. If he was PUT INTO PLAY then he would be free.

Page 13 of the rulebook.
very good card, excellent to play after winning the edge battle or playing him for 3 force icons...
Photo
chilligreen
Feb 21 2016 05:33 PM

Ok, new to the game and just getting a hang of this, can I please clarify something. I think this is right: my opponent attacks with a 3 health unit with two damage on it already, and then I trigger Ackbar to come into play in the action window before the edge battle. Deal 1 damage, kill my opponent's unit, so now the only participating unit is Ackbar. Do I automatically win the edge battle? And so can trigger the two tactics icons?

If a player doesn't have any units participating in an engagement, they can't play edge cards. In your example, because you killed his only participant with Ackbar before the edge battle began, he can't play edge cards, and you win edge automatically. 

 

Relevant text from the rulebook, p 18: "A player must control at least one participating unit to place cards in the edge battle. If the defending player controls no defending units, the attacking player automatically wins the edge battle (although he still has the option to place cards into the edge battle if he so desires)."

Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 09 2016 01:02 AM

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.