Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Heroic Sacrifice

Heroic Sacrifice

Heroic Sacrifice

Type: Event
Cost: 1
Force Icons: 1
Faction: Light Rebel Alliance
Action: Sacrifice a Vehicle unit to destroy a target enemy Vehicle unit with printed cost 4 or lower.
Block Number: 12 - 6 of 6
Set: Core Number: 0047 Quantity:
Illustrator: Jonathan Lee
* * * - -   2 Rebel Sympathizers have rated this card!
Rulings and Errata:
This card has no rulings.
Other Cards in Block 12
Recent Decks Using This Card:


Looks like Coruscant Defense Fleet and Devastator are the only DS vehicles this can't hit. I look forward to sac'ing a 1-cost X-Wing to destroy Vader's Advanced TIE.
Best one to sacrifice would be Posted Image
This looks like it will hit an Imp Navy deck hard. I'm thinking Rebel Alliance might be my first choice for light side out of the box.
Be careful of the timing with X-wing Escort. The X-wing Escort interrupt resolves first, so if your opponent has a TIE Fighter and Devastator out, he can choose to sacrifice the TIE Fighter first. Then, your Heroic Sacrifice no longer has a target.

Jan 22 2013 10:28 AM
Does heroic sacrifice require a legal target to be played? Last night I played a game in which Devastator was the only vehicle on the DS side and I played heroic sacrifice to get X-Wing Escort to leave play just in order to utilize that units ability. I wasn´t sure if I could do it, without a legal target, and we did have a discussion about it afterwards which didn´t lead us to a definite answer. Was kinda important cause that single incident is what decided who would win the game.
I think I've read on the FFG forums that "target" means something has to actually be validly targeted in order for the effect to take place, but I can't remember the exact wording.

Jan 24 2013 08:37 AM
Found it on page 27 of the rulebook under "targets": "If there is no valid target for a targeting effect, the effect cannot be initiated".
Meaning that heroic sacrifice cannot be used solely to kick X-wing Escort out of play.
You think this card and its pod will see more play with the new AT-AT's around? Maybe as a support pod to the speeder decks?

Laxen, on 17 August 2013 - 10:33 AM, said:

You think this card and its pod will see more play with the new AT-AT's around? Maybe as a support pod to the speeder decks?
Well, the AT-ATs won't really give it a target, so I doubt it will be "the answer" for them.

dbmeboy, on 17 August 2013 - 10:46 AM, said:

Well, the AT-ATs won't really give it a target, so I doubt it will be "the answer" for them.

Curious why you say that as AT-AT are 4 cost.
You scared me there dbmeboy, thought I'd read this card wrong :b

The AT-AT's in the set do cost 4 (those that destroys enhancements and that you get 2x). Maybe you got them mixed up with the AT-AT Assault Formation that cost 6?
Yeah, I was thinking of the assault formation. I'm an idiot, don't mind me.
I think a better answer to AT-ATs will be the speeder launch bays in combination with other speeders like rogue leader + rogue 2, and the speeder tanks with tactics. being able to damage ANY vehicle and then also focus walkers when they aren't even in the engagement is pretty nice and has more applications than heroic sacrifice.
Ye, much likely. It's a bit risk though since the AT-AT's are able to destroy the enhancement if it wins edge. Haven't really played Heroic Sacrifice yet or seen it played much either so not sure how big a drawback its additional cost is when actually playing though. Sacrificing units is rarely fun (looking forward to Executor though ;))

But probably the best answer will be Luke or Han with trust your feelings or Chewie combat tricks. Poor rebels :b

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.