Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Twist of Fate



Twist of Fate



Type: Plot House: Neutral
Income:5 Initiative: 4 Claim: 2
Game Text:

When a player wins a challenge against you as the attacker, he or she may choose to use the claim effect of any challenge type instead of the normal claim effect. This text box cannot be blanked.
Number: 119 Set: APS
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Regis Moulun
Recent Decks: dotrhaki v2
renown and dominance
The Only Way is Orphan - Rayleigh, Essex (UK) Regional Winner 17/05/2014
Quentyn Aggro-Control
Martell Quentyn


6 Comments

Photo
jackmerridew
Apr 20 2012 04:58 PM
great plot, with a very significant downside but a 5 gold 2 claim plot is a beast
Perfect plot if you suspect an enemy valar to maintain board dominance :)
Photo
jackmerridew
Apr 20 2012 05:46 PM
i really like how dangerous it is, it can hurt you in a huge way or pay off in a huge way and more plots should be like that, i think they were attempting to get that sort of split with
Focused Offense (QoD) but the downside just outweighed the positives too much
I (actually my whole meta) played Focused Offense a lot when we started playing. We almost thought it was broken cos it could wipe an enemy out completely in one round - but yes, nowadays we never play it when we've learned to play with more and cheaper characters :P

Twist of Fate might end up the same, that it doesn't work as well as one think once its tested or the meta adapts to it. But I haven't given up hope yet. The stats are just so awesome - and hopefully one can play the plot only when one is close to sure that no challenges will be pushed though against one self. Bit yes, that's what we though of FO too... and yet one always had that or valar left for the last turns which both would ruin one's lead and one lost the game xD
How does this card work in combination with
Red Vengeance (PotS)Red Vengeance
?

Card Text:
House Martell only. 
Response: After you lose a challenge as the defender, kneel 2 influence to cancel the claim effect of that challenge. Then, choose an opponent to satisfy the claim of that challenge as if he or she had lost the challenge as the defender.

In a Melee game, say Player A wins a power challenge against me. They choose a military claim effect via Twist of Fate. I play Red Vengeance, and choose Player B to satisfy the claim. Since Red Vengeance says "cancel the claim effect of that challenge", does that in any way nullify the new claim effect via Twist of Fate and revert the claim back to power? Does the player who won the challenge then get to choose the claim effect again, since the first one was "canceled", or does the claim remain a military one?

How would this plot interact with something like
Andal Charger (APS) or
War of Five Kings (RoW)
? Could they choose a military, intrigue, power OR the Warhorse/Epic Phase claim?
This is KOTM's ruling on the matter.

if the Martell player is the one with Twist of Fate, when they play Red Vengeance, only the original claim corresponding to that challenge (as currently modified) can be resolved on the new "defender" because the effect of the plot is no longer applicable. It only works when "you" are the defender - and Red Vengeance specifically says to treat the resolution of the "redirected" claim (although only the redirected claim) as if the other person is the defender. The plot therefore doesn't apply. If I win a power challenge against a Martell player with Twist of Fate and they Red Vengeance it to someone else, I can only resolve power claim against the someone else, even if I would have chosen military or intrigue against the player with Twist of Fate.

Finally, the converse of the second point is true, too. If the "new defender" chosen when Red Vengeance is used has Twist of Fate revealed, the plot kicks in to modify the claim effect that is resolving and I can choose any challenge resolution I want. So, if I win a power challenge against a Martell player and they Red Vengeance it to someone with Twist of Fate, I can choose to resolve as a military or intrigue challenge against that "new defender."


and in regards to competing claim effects

The competing replacement effects would conflict, and the First Player would decide the order (with the second one applied being the one with practical resolution) - the same way that the First Player decides when a card is killed, discarded, and/or returned to hand at the same time.