Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Call of Cthulhu LCG


Search for Cards
Name:
Order By:
More Search Options
Subtype:
Text:
Set:

Unique:
Type:
Faction:




Restricted:
Cost:
Skill:
Icons:
Resource Modifier:
Steadfast:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Twisted Acropolis
***--

Apr 22 2019 08:37 AM by RichardPlunkett

heh, when I read your comment I (wrongly) thought you were referring to the illustrator being on drugs to produce this image - which I (again wrongly) thought was a little harsh given the flavor text.

Now I see you are referring to the data entry. They have placed the flavor text in the 'Illustrator' field, instead of Julian Kok. Poor Julian.

Bone Sculptor
-----

Apr 22 2019 08:30 AM by RichardPlunkett

I suspect he was mis-entered as being in the core, then they noticed him missing and entered him again, then they noticed the core version and change it to the correct pack and now we have two listed in the pack.

Sir Jon Scott
***--

Apr 18 2019 07:35 PM by KrytenKoro

Why's this listed as "Sir Jon Scott"?

Twisted Acropolis
***--

Apr 16 2019 09:00 PM by KrytenKoro

the illustrator bit is messed up here.

Bone Sculptor
-----

Apr 15 2019 09:20 PM by KrytenKoro

Is this supposed to appear twice?

Caleb Orison
**---

Mar 02 2019 08:17 PM by snarkherder

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe his effect doesn't happen if no one goes to stories.

 

I think this is right.  From the FAQ, "Stories will resolve only if the active player has characters at that story."  So if the active player does not commit characters to any stories, the Forced Response is not triggered.

The Guardian of the Key
**---

Mar 02 2019 06:20 AM by snarkherder

This works well with Prize Pistol, no?

Old Sea Dog
****-

Feb 27 2019 04:33 AM by snarkherder

I like this with Crescent Blade. It's like a budget Khopesh that does not wound your own characters.

The Cats of Ulthar
***--

Feb 27 2019 12:35 AM by snarkherder

Love this card, but I'm biased considering my profile picture. Still think its worth 3/5 because of the ambush and the clearification mentioned by Zephyr regarded "committed". Combined with 'false papers' it also becomes quite decent removal, since you then can make every character become a Zoog, including ancient ones.

And with Marcus Jamburg, you could potentially create a quasi-endless Cats of Ulthar Zoog destruction loop.  Way too bouncy for competitive play, but could be fun.

Neil's Curiosity Shop
**---

Feb 12 2019 10:15 PM by KrytenKoro

The "Kingsport's Haunted Houses" ad indicates that this card is meant to be able to copy the effects of the other Locations in that pack, which reference themselves. I think it's clear that self-references aren't meant to be an obstacle.

Tunnel Lurker
***--

Feb 05 2019 04:00 PM by snarkherder

I believe normal (framework action) Story commits generally happen all at once, not in sequence.

A Forced Response that triggers after an event (most do) are higher priority than responses, but otherwise quite similar. So it would happen after resolving the framework action of committing everyone that you chose to commit.

Ah, that makes sense.  Thanks!

Tunnel Lurker
***--

Feb 02 2019 08:12 AM by RichardPlunkett

I believe normal (framework action) Story commits generally happen all at once, not in sequence.

A Forced Response that triggers after an event (most do) are higher priority than responses, but otherwise quite similar. So it would happen after resolving the framework action of committing everyone that you chose to commit.

Tunnel Lurker
***--

Jan 31 2019 05:32 AM by snarkherder

What happens if you commit Tunnel Lurker to a story, then another character?  From my reading of the FAQ re actions, responses, forced responses, and disrupts, forced responses act more like disrupts than responses, so it shouldn't affect the characters committed afterwards, but that seems...wrong to me...

Experiment Subject #613b
*----

Jan 28 2019 07:21 PM by KrytenKoro

I feel like this is a reference to Stitch.

Pocket Telescope
*----

Dec 30 2018 02:27 AM by Jamiejame911

The original CCG version is functionally the same and does have the "Attachment" keyword, but it doesn't say it needs to be attached to a character.  You may think this was an oversight, except the next card in the set (Flare Gun) has the Attachment keyword and yet explictly states that it needs to "Attach to a character you control."  The card before Pocket Telescope (Whateley's Diary) is also an Attachment, but like PT, doesn't demand that the card attach to a character.  So, I think the original version didn't require this and is therefore a much, much better card.

Ancient Gold
*----

Dec 30 2018 02:13 AM by Jamiejame911

The CCG version of Ancient Gold is awesome (5 of 5).

Ancient Gold
*----

Dec 08 2018 08:06 PM by snarkherder

I think the idea behind this one is to be able to use multiple domains to play a character card in exchange for increasing the cost by one.  You have a 5 cost character card, and a domain with 2 resources and a domain with 4 resources.  It is now possible to play your 5 cost card.  This would be a slightly better card if it was not limited by faction, since there just aren't any high cost Syndicate characters that are so amazing I want to get them out one turn ahead of time.

 

I don't see this going into any of my decks, but maybe there's some strange combo out there that I'm just not seeing.

Antarctic Wind
*----

Dec 04 2018 02:36 PM by KrytenKoro

Error with the image. Also, isn't this set just called "The Mountains of Madness"?

Silver Twilight Temptress
****-

Dec 01 2018 06:31 AM by snarkherder

Whether intentional or no, the angles of the shadow are all wrong.  Her chair's shadow is just above the chair, so why is her shadow below her?  It looks like she is leaning down to drink in the shadow realm, but her body is straight up and she is holding out her cup.  Her shadow also looks vaguely inhuman, but is that just her hair?  It's vaguely unsettling without being obvious.

 

Oh, and she has a dagger.

 

Awesome.

Hanyatl's 7:13
***--

Nov 27 2018 02:39 AM by snarkherder

Yeah, you're probably right.  Ah well, back to the drawing board.  This was going to be the centerpiece for my Black Dog/Hastur control deck.



Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.