Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Call of Cthulhu LCG


Search for Cards
Name:
Order By:
More Search Options
Subtype:
Text:
Set:

Unique:
Type:
Faction:




Restricted:
Cost:
Skill:
Icons:
Resource Modifier:
Steadfast:
Hide Search Options
Recent Card Discussion
Pocket Telescope
*----

Dec 30 2018 02:27 AM by Jamiejame911

The original CCG version is functionally the same and does have the "Attachment" keyword, but it doesn't say it needs to be attached to a character.  You may think this was an oversight, except the next card in the set (Flare Gun) has the Attachment keyword and yet explictly states that it needs to "Attach to a character you control."  The card before Pocket Telescope (Whateley's Diary) is also an Attachment, but like PT, doesn't demand that the card attach to a character.  So, I think the original version didn't require this and is therefore a much, much better card.

Ancient Gold
*----

Dec 30 2018 02:13 AM by Jamiejame911

The CCG version of Ancient Gold is awesome (5 of 5).

Ancient Gold
*----

Dec 08 2018 08:06 PM by snarkherder

I think the idea behind this one is to be able to use multiple domains to play a character card in exchange for increasing the cost by one.  You have a 5 cost character card, and a domain with 2 resources and a domain with 4 resources.  It is now possible to play your 5 cost card.  This would be a slightly better card if it was not limited by faction, since there just aren't any high cost Syndicate characters that are so amazing I want to get them out one turn ahead of time.

 

I don't see this going into any of my decks, but maybe there's some strange combo out there that I'm just not seeing.

Antarctic Wind
*----

Dec 04 2018 02:36 PM by KrytenKoro

Error with the image. Also, isn't this set just called "The Mountains of Madness"?

Silver Twilight Temptress
****-

Dec 01 2018 06:31 AM by snarkherder

Whether intentional or no, the angles of the shadow are all wrong.  Her chair's shadow is just above the chair, so why is her shadow below her?  It looks like she is leaning down to drink in the shadow realm, but her body is straight up and she is holding out her cup.  Her shadow also looks vaguely inhuman, but is that just her hair?  It's vaguely unsettling without being obvious.

 

Oh, and she has a dagger.

 

Awesome.

Hanyatl's 7:13
***--

Nov 27 2018 02:39 AM by snarkherder

Yeah, you're probably right.  Ah well, back to the drawing board.  This was going to be the centerpiece for my Black Dog/Hastur control deck.

Will of Azathoth
***--

Nov 24 2018 11:55 PM by InfernoMustang
I think it could be doable with the rest of the deck focused on uncommitting characters (something lodge is good at) and playing some hard defense (something that agency is good at). I’ll mess around with it and post it once it has beaten a strong mi-go deck consistently.
Hanyatl's 7:13
***--

Nov 23 2018 01:12 PM by Track8
It's pretty rare for a Response to act in the manner that is being postulated. Responses typically trigger off of momentary occurrences rather than game states. If this card was meant to trigger in the way you're thinking, it would possibly read "trigger this effect only if there are 3 or more characters committed to the same story." See a card like Uroborus, for example. I agree the wording is ambiguous. Given how most Responses work in this game, plus Shub's penchant for flooding the board with characters, I think dboeren is probably correct.
Will of Azathoth
***--

Nov 23 2018 12:38 PM by Track8
While it's a neat trick, I think such a deck might end up being kind of gimmicky. And since you can only have 1 Will in play at a time, you'd still need to be competitive at other stories despite running sub-standard characters.
Yog-Sothoth
****-

Nov 17 2018 12:35 AM by snarkherder

Does Yog's special ability work with Tesla?  I could see it counting only as a triggered effect by Yog and not by the card in the discard pile, but you are playing the spell from the discard pile without paying its cost.  Does this mean you are triggering the spell's effect from the discard pile?

Sarnath
-----

Nov 13 2018 04:36 PM by snarkherder

Without a rules reference, all we have is our opinion.  Some of the wording in these cards is pretty inconsistent.  I remember one that says something like "when this card is refreshed during the refresh phase..."  I think they meant "readied" but heck, they could have meant "restored."  Or maybe both?  But then why wouldn't they have said "readied or restored" instead of "refreshed?"  That's the nature of this game.

 

Anyway, I should have cited my source for the copy/paste job above.  Here's another one: https://learnenglish...-and-might-have

Disgruntled Chef
**---

Nov 13 2018 09:32 AM by RichardPlunkett

Poor Zoe, a massive powerful investigator in Arkham Horror LCG and a so-so no-name here.

Also, I always thought disgruntled would go better with characters entering play than leaving, but I guess that wouldn't match the Silver Twilight aesthetic.

Sarnath
-----

Nov 13 2018 09:21 AM by RichardPlunkett

Is that your take on english or from a rules reference somewhere?

The point being that 'cannot' is a well defined game term, but 'may not' is rare, so a useful reference would be appreciated, but I wouldn't take an opinion on English to hold nearly as strong.

Dark Contagion
*----

Nov 13 2018 08:11 AM by snarkherder

Considering it comes with Dhole Ant-Lion, it is likely meant to run with it.  It's a way to Concrete and Chains your opponent while killing one of your own characters off.  Yay.

 

Come to think of it, though, wouldn't this be a decent card to build around your Khopesh?  I can imagine a deck of extra-tough Shub cards and a Khopesh with the capacity to kill off characters with "Toughness +1" if need be.

Inconspicuous Zoog
*----

Nov 13 2018 07:57 AM by snarkherder

I'm thinking of pitting a Shub-Zoog ramp deck against a Misk-Zoog rush deck.  Thoughts?

Whispers of Aoide
**---

Nov 13 2018 03:23 AM by snarkherder

Could work in a Hastur/Yog mill deck with Yithians, no?

Garden District
-----

Nov 12 2018 05:59 AM by snarkherder

I mostly agreed with the above analysis on this card until I was looking for the perfect card to fill the final two slots of my mono-ST deck.  Lo and behold, this card was that perfect fit.  I never thought I'd say it, but I'm excited to try out Garden District!  Here's my deck for anyone who is curious.

 

http://www.cardgamed...k_57599fe7bacbc

 

I really wish more people had done/would do this, especially for these "how could this possibly be useful" type cards.  Thanks for posting!

Sarnath
-----

Nov 11 2018 04:20 PM by snarkherder

"Cannot" and "may not" mean the same thing:

 

A denial of permission is properly phrased formally by saying may not or with cannot or can’t.

  • You may not use my car tonight.
  • You cannot use my car tonight.
  • You can’t use my car tonight.

While Sarnath is exhausted you may not, cannot, can't ready the chosen character.

Hanyatl's 7:13
***--

Nov 11 2018 07:12 AM by snarkherder

When the card says "After 3 or more characters are committed to a story" that means that 3+ guys were committed together. You don't get to add your side plus their side, and characters that add in later like Black Dog don't count towards it either. "are committed" is describing an action, not a population count.

It would definitely be a better card if it did work that way though. It's not a bad card, but your opponent won't commit 3+ for you and committing 3+ yourself can be cost-prohibitive although sometimes it's doable and Shub can build a deck that cranks out characters so there's a niche for it.

 

I think dummiesday's instincts were correct.  The card reads "After 3 or more characters are committed to a story..."  It does not read, "After committing 3 or more characters to a story" or "After a player commits 3 or more characters to a story."  Once that third character is committed, regardless of when, my reading is the prophecy is triggered.

Disgruntled Chef
**---

Nov 11 2018 06:55 AM by snarkherder

She definitely belongs in a deck with Fine Dining.  For the flavor, of course.



Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.