Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

The Glovodan Eagle



The Glovodan Eagle

The Glovodan Eagle


Type: Attachment
Faction: Astra Militarum
Cost: 1
Shields: 3
Signature/Loyalty: Signature Icon
Traits: Familiar.

Attach to your warlord.
Attached warlord gets +1 ATK.
Combat Action: Detach this card to have it become an army unit with 1 ATK and 1 HP and the text, “Action: Return this unit to your hand.”


Set: The Threat Beyond Number: 92 Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Abrar Ajmal
Other Cards in Signature Squad 012
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


11 Comments

Photo
sirtommygunn
Apr 03 2015 02:02 AM

Excellent synergy with Coteaz and the rest of his signature squad. Glovodan Eagle is extremely flexible in enabling Coteaz's attacks, both with the passive boost and being able to break off and become another unit to be sacrificed to let Coteaz swing for three, possibly even after using its own attack. Also counts as an army unit for Formosan Black Ship. Can also be broken off and returned to hand to be used as a shield card if that's necessary. 5/5

    • Killax likes this

For sure is among the best Attachments out there. The Combat Action The Globodan Eagle has seems minimal at first sight but once we factor in that it can be returned and as such can be used as a last chance "ultimate" Shield or Attack make it very good. Plus it's Uniqueness makes this "combo" very hard to break.

 

Giving Coteaz arguably the best Support and Attachment card he can wish for.

 

5/5

    • XaosChaos likes this

And in the most boring scenario, it's still that 1 ATK Coteaz needed to snipe Pirates and Traders.

    • Killax likes this

When you detach the bird as a 1/1 dude, does it have to stay at the planet with the warlord or can it go to any planet?

Since it doesn't say that you can move it to a different location when it detaches, it stays at the same location (i.e., planet or HQ) as the warlord when it detaches.

Is that specific to detaching?

Yeah - he can end up at a different planet later e.g. if you detach him, combat ends, warlord returns to HQ but bird stays at planet. Once detached it's basically a 1/1 army unit with a return to hand ability that no longer has anything to do with the warlord and does not count as an attachment any more.

Can you point me to a rule that says if you detach you have to stay at the same planet unless it says otherwise?

 

This is a unique situation (as far as I know). If there isn't a rule that states the bird has to become a unit at that planet I don't see why it wouldn't be able to be placed at another planet.....

 

Seeing that this is an attachment changing game state (becoming a unit), it's a unit that has not "come into play at a given planet" yet.

 

I am not saying it should be one way or the other. Just trying to make sure that I know how it should resolve if it comes up in a game.

You're looking at this the wrong way. The Eagle doesn't stay with the warlord (at the specific planet or HQ) because that's where the warlord was when it detached. It stays in that location because that's where the attachment card was when it detached.

 

Generally speaking, the rules of the game are that cards are deployed to a specific location and remain in that location unless and until a card or game effect moves them. When you detach the Eagle, you are not "deploying" it, so the rules allowing you to choose the planet a unit is deployed at do not apply. With no other card or game effect allowing you to move the card, the Eagle must maintain the same planet/location it was at when it was an attachment. The Eagle was at that planet as an attachment, and since the "detach" effect doesn't say it moves when it transforms to a unit, it doesn't.

 

This isn't a matter of, "Show me the rule that says it doesn't move;" it's a matter of, "There is no rule saying it does move."

    • keebler likes this

Well there's nothing anywhere to suggest detaching means it leaves play and returns to play so why would it be able to move?

 

It's still in play where it was, it's just transformed from an attached attachment into an independent unit.

    • keebler likes this

Thanks guys. Perfect.