Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Search Articles

- - - - -

FAQ for Called to Arms

#rules

Fear Cuts Deeper Than Swords
- This event can only cancel an ability with the word "choose" in its text (so it won't work with Tears of Lys, Tyene Sand, etc.).
- The targeted Stark character doesn't have to be kneeling (standing is not a cost here, unlike with Ser Barristan Selmy).
- You can use this event to cancel your own ability (from an event or a card in play) that targets a Stark character you control, just to stand that character.
- You cannot use this card to cancel the ability of Ser Gregor Clegane or The Tickler.
- You can use this card to cancel Intimidate or Stealth.

There Is My Claim
- You must reveal 4 Tyrell characters before your opponent gets to decide whether to cancel your event or not (e.g. with The Hand's Judgement).

Dolorous Edd
- Placing a character into play as a defender gets around any limitation on declaring defenders (e.g. Ser Loras Tyrell, Jousting Contest).
- If you win the intrigue challenge, you must choose whether to return him to hand or not *before* any reactions to winnins/losing the challenge can be triggered.

Craven
- Attached character cannot be declared as an attacker, but this doesn't mean he cannot participate as an attacker (e.g. Wardens of the North, Kennel Master).

The Stone Drum
- Naval Superiority does not affect The Stone Drum. Naval only affects the base gold value of plots, which almost always means their printed gold value. The Stone Drum's ability is a modifier, and so it still applies.
- Rains of Autumn does not affect The Stone Drum. Its constant ability is not considered to be a gold modifier (that term refers to gold coin icons in the card's text box).
Balon Greyjoy
- Balon's Action ability will always give him at least +1 STR for himself being loyal.

Ours is the Old Way
- If you choose the second option, your non-Greyjoy characters will lose stealth too!
- Keywords stack just like icons, so if you play this (choosing the second option) and use Pyke or Syrio Forel to give your Tyrion stealth (in whatever order), he'll have stealth (1-1+1 = 1 instance of stealth)

Venomous Blade
- You can marshal it as normal, and the poisoned character will be killed at the end of the Marshaling phase.
- If attached character gets Warded, the Blade will become illegally attached (not to a character you control) and get discarded.

Summer Harvest
- If one player reveals Summer Harvest and another player reveals Varys's Riddle, both "when revealed" abilities define the X on Summer Harvest (neither of them defines anything about Varys's Riddle!). One of the abilities makes X=0+2 while another one makes X=5+2. The first player gets to decide which one of these conflicting effects ultimately applies (i.e. whether Summer Harvest provides 2 gold or 7 gold).
  • scantrell24 and Thursday like this


9 Comments

Is that how the Summer Harvest interaction works? The Riddle lets you initiate "When Revealed: choose an opponent. X is 2 higher than the printed gold value on that player's revealed plot card." But it doesn't say that you can use that to define any X in play. Otherwise what's to stop you from choosing X on another card?

 

Wouldn't Summer Harvest have to be worded "...X on Summer Harvest is 2 higher..." for this interaction to work the way you describe? I'd assume that, as it is worded, the effect would just fizzle as it refers to a variable that is not on the card that initiates it.

 

Thanks for these FAQs, very much appreciated!

I re-wrote the entry for Summer Harvest, hopefully it's more clear now. The idea is that Varys's Riddle triggers the when revealed ability on Summer Harvest - it doesn't copy it, it actually triggers the ability of that plot. You choose your oppoent's plot which is, huh, Summer Harvest! So you end up with two effects that define the same value - the gold value on Summer Harvest.

"- The targeted Stark character doesn't have to be standing (it's not a cost here, unlike with Ser Barristan Selmy)."

 

you mean "he doesn't have to be KNEELING", right... cause the effect stands him, but you can use it even on a char that is already standing?

    • mplain likes this

...and I can see only 7 of the cards on imgur. Am I doing something wrong? :/

You're right, thanks, I'll fix that.

 

The rest of the cards are here: http://thronesdb.com/set/CtA

thx :)

Is that how the Summer Harvest interaction works? The Riddle lets you initiate "When Revealed: choose an opponent. X is 2 higher than the printed gold value on that player's revealed plot card." But it doesn't say that you can use that to define any X in play. Otherwise what's to stop you from choosing X on another card?

 

Wouldn't Summer Harvest have to be worded "...X on Summer Harvest is 2 higher..." for this interaction to work the way you describe? I'd assume that, as it is worded, the effect would just fizzle as it refers to a variable that is not on the card that initiates it.

 

Thanks for these FAQs, very much appreciated!

I'm with Thursday on this, can you explain why this wouldn't be able to affect some other card with X, or why it wouldn't just fizzle when there was no X to define on Varys's?

I'm with Thursday on this, can you explain why this wouldn't be able to affect some other card with X, or why it wouldn't just fizzle when there was no X to define on Varys's?

 

Varys's Riddle does not copy the When Revealed ability on Summer Harvest. Rather, it initiates it, as if you've just revealed Summer Harvest. Basically, for a second there, the game sees you revealing Summer Harvest (the same Summer Harvest that your opponent also reveals -- not a copy of it, not some abstract Summer Harvest) and initiating its When Revealed ability. It goes like this:

 

  • Player 1 reveals Varys's Riddle.
  • Player 2 reveals Summer Harvest.
  • Player 1 wins initiative, and chooses to be the first player.
  • Player 1 chooses to resolve the When Revealed ability on Summer Harvest first.
  • When Revealed ability on Summer Harvest resolves, its controller (Player 2) chooses an opponent (Player 1, whose revealed plot is Varys's Riddle), and defines the X on Summer Harvest as 5+2.
  • When Revealed ability on Varys's Riddle resolves, and initiates the When Revealed ability on Summer Harvest as if Player 1 had just revealed it.
  • When Revealed ability on Summer Harvest resolves [again], its controller (Player 1) chooses an opponent (Player 2, whose revealed plot is Summer Harvest), and defines the X on Summer Harvest as 0+2.
  • There are now two conflicting lasting effects, one defines X=7, the other defines X=2. The first player (Player 1) chooses to apply X=7 first, and then apply X=2. The final result is that the gold value of Summer Harvest is defined as 2.
    • Zouavez likes this

I would like to know how Naval interacts with Stone Drum.

 

Naval has also constant ability:

Treat the base gold value on each revealed Kingdom and each revealed Edict plot card as if it were 0. 

 

Which is somewhat enigmatic - this "base value" migth be something of interest here.

 

Nevermind: RRG defines "base value" as printed value so In case Naval Hits Kingdom plot Drum gives you one gold.