Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Search Articles

- - - - -

FAQ for Tyrion's Chain


"Wolf in the Night"

- You can attack with a Stark character solo, play this, then use Wardens of the North or Winterfell Kennel Master to bring someone else into the challenge, and the original attacker will keep the bonus STR and renown (until the end of the challenge).

* * * * *

Fist of the First Men

- In a multiplayer game, you need to have higher reserve than at least one other player.

* * * * *

Salladhor Saan

- If that Warship or Weapon has a Reaction to winning a challenge, you can use it in the same reaction window (e.g. Great Kraken).

* * * * *

The Valyrian

- The X is fixed at the moment you use the ability, and will not change if the defending player subsequently spends gold.

* * * * *

Podrick Payne

- Putting Podrick into play is part of the cost, not effect (unlike Dolorous Edd, Ser Alliser Thorne, etc.). So if his ability is cancelled with Treachery, the save and kill effects do not resolve, but Podrick remains in play.

- You can use Podrick's ability even if another copy of him is already in play. The card in your hand will enter play as a duplicate, the rest of the effect will resolve as normal.

* * * * *

Sea Beatch

- "Until the end of the phase" lasting effects wear off after "When the phase ends" interrupts can be triggered, but before "At the end of the phase" delayed effects resolve (see FAQ). So you can steal The Red Keep or The Wall and use it when the phase ends before returning it to your opponent. But you cannot steal Iron Mines and use them to save a character from being killed at the end of the phase by Tears of Lys.

- You cannot take control of a unique card if you have another copy of that card in play (that you either control or own).

* * * * *

House of the Undying

- If there are two or more copies, by title, of the same unique character in the opponent's dead pile, House of the Undying will not put any of them into play.

* * * * *

Tarred Heads

- This is not a kill effect. The card is discarded, then placed from the discard pile into the dead pile. Reactions to a card being discarded from hand can trigger (e.g. Cersei Lannister (LoCR) ), reactions to a character being killed cannot.
  • Zouavez likes this


So to be clear, let's say Podrick is in play, and you choose him as military claim. If you have another copy in hand, you can pay 2 gold to put him into play as a duplicate, then use that duplicate to save him?

Huh, nice one! Yes, that's exactly how it would work: you'd attempt to save him, fail (because costs would've been prevented), then attempt again - and succeed.

Jan 31 2017 10:00 PM

So how are you putting Pod into play as part of a cost when Pod is already in play again?

As a duplicate! :)

    • Ironswimsuit likes this
Feb 01 2017 01:13 PM

Thanks. Whenever I see duplicate, my brain thinks marshalling is part of the process (except Core Arya or setup)

Looking for clarification on esgred. Is the sacrifice for having Asha in play automatic/forced?

Yes. Same deal as with Arry.