Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Search Articles

* * * * *

True Steel FAQ

#rules

Septa Mordane
- Immunity to plot effects will protect Arya from your opponent's Wildfire Assault, First Snow of Winter, Marched to the Wall, Blood of the Dragon, and Filthy Accusations.
- If Septa Mordane and Arya Stark are both hit by Wildfire Assault or First Snow of Winter, they are affected simultaneously, so even if Septa leaves play, Arya will stay on the board.
- You cannot choose an immune character to be Marched to the Wall.

Ward
- If Ward leaves play, becomes unattached, or gets blanked, its constant ability ceases to apply, and control of the character reverts back to its previous owner (unless another "take control" effect is in force).
- On the other hand, "take control" effects created by triggered abilities (Take the Black, Yoren, Bronn, Euron Greyjoy, Dagmer Cleftjaw) are independent of the source of the ability, and continue to apply even if the card that generated them leaves play.
- Taking control of a card does NOT give you control of its attachments or duplicates. They remain attached, but you don't control them. They still provide their passive effects to the attached character, but you cannot use their triggered abilities. You cannot use a dupe to save the Warded character, but the dupe's owner can.
- You cannot marshal or put into play duplicates of a Warded character - in order to attach a dupe you need to own and control both the dupe and the card being duped.
- While you control another player's unique card, that player cannot marshal or put into play another copy of that card.

Sworn Brother
- Reduces the cost of the first location you marshal each round, not the next one. So if you marshal a location, then Sworn Brother, then another location, you won't get the discount.

Ser Barristan Selmy
- Note the "stand to save" format: standing is the cost of the ability (just like kneeling usually is), while 'save' is the effect. You can only trigger the ability if Ser Barristan is kneeling. Treachery can only cancel the 'save' effect, but the cost will still be paid, so Ser Barristan will stand.

Small Council Chamber
- Immunity to events protects this card from Put to the Torch, We Do Not Sow, and Nightmares.
- Treachery can still be used to cancel this card's Reaction, because it targets the ability and not the immune card itself.
- The Chamber is still vulnerable to Newly-Made Lord and Dagmer Cleftjaw. If your opponent gains control of it, all power on the Chamber will count towards his victory.

Dagmer Cleftjaw
- Claim replacement effects are used after Reactions to winning/losing the challenge, and after gaining the Unopposed bonus, right before Claim is applied. These effects do not resolve immediately, rather they modify the way claim will be applied after all interrupts are played. If multiple claim replacement effects are played (e.g. Seastone Chair, Vengeance for Elia), only the most recently played one applies.
- Dagmer's ability creates a lasting effect that is independent of its sourse, meaning that the location will stay under your control even if Dagmer himself leaves play. Taking control of a card does NOT give you control of its attachments or duplicates. In order to attach a duplicate you need to own and control both the dupe and the card being duped. While you control another player's unique card, that player cannot marshal or put into play another copy of that card.

Drowned God's Blessing
- This card does not protect from Tears of Lys, because placing a poison counter technically doesn't involve choosing targets.
- Protects from Put to the Sword, Dracarys, Like Warm Rain, Confinement, The Things I Do For Love, Nightmares, Take the Black, The Kraken's Grasp.
- Does not protect from Consolidation of Power (if multiple targets are chosen), Even-Handed Justice, Dragon Sight, The Watcher on the Walls.

Tyene Sand
- Just like with Tears of Lys, Tyene's ability doesn't target (it doesn't have the word "choose"), so it get around immunity and protection from being targeted. Also, the poisoned character is killed "at the end of phase", which happens after the "until the end of phase" lasting effects expire, and outside of the challenges phase, so Winterfell Crypt and Crossroads Sellsword won't trigger.
- Note that, unlike Mirri Maz Duur and Dagmer Cleftjaw, Tyene's ability is not a claim replacement effect, but a regular Reaction to winning a challange (so you get both the poison effect and intrigue claim).

Forgotten Plans
- Lasting effects created by "When revealed" abilities are independent from their source and are unaffected by this plot (e.g. Calm Over Westeros).
- Blanked plots will briefly regain their text at the beginning of the next turn's plot phase (e.g. Blood of the Dragon).
  • scantrell24, scwont, VonWibble and 4 others like this


21 Comments

Photo
scantrell24
May 16 2016 08:17 AM

Maybe delay publication until card images are available later today and then add them to the article?

    • FedericoFasullo likes this
The Stark-affiliation granted through Ward replaces the affiliation or does add it to the character?

@scantrell24 done.

 

@stahlwolle since the card doesn't specifically say that the affected character loses his original affiliation, and nothing in the rules prohibit having two of more affiliations, I assume that the character keeps his original affiliation, as well as the newly acquired Stark affiliation. Double agent.

I think that based on a couple questions I've seen with regards to Ser Barristan Selmy, it might be worth pointing out that standing him is the cost to trigger his ability.  Because it doesn't sound like it's a cost(because standing him is a benefit), I can see some confusion.

    • mplain likes this
Photo
Ironswimsuit
May 16 2016 07:35 PM

It makes no sense for Treachery to affect Small Council Chambers.

@Bomb thank you, added.

 

@Ironswimsuit Treachery can also cancel Pleasure Barge :)

    • Ironswimsuit likes this
Photo
Ironswimsuit
May 16 2016 08:37 PM

@Ironswimsuit Treachery can also cancel Pleasure Barge :)

 

Also senseless. :) I'm not annoyed that this ruins some bonkers Lannister deck I may have built down the line(it doesn't), and I'll be more than happy to Treachery the hell out of someone's Council Chamber/Barge. It's just a  bad rule to create a tactical maneuver that isn't needed or beneficial to the design. It's needless. The number one reason I hear people don't play LCGs in my area is the rules-fu. And most of these people are pretty good at card games.  I am, however, very thankful that you and people like you take time to make these clarifications for us that do play.

It's not senseless if you pretend a cancel effect is like a shield blocking an ability.  I don't think a character being immune to card effects should also be treated like a super human who is not only immune to your stuff, but also has abilities that are unblock-able.

 

EDIT: And the same would apply for any other card type, but character is the easiest to illustrate.

    • FedericoFasullo likes this

I really hate the Tears ruling. I mean, it makes sense, but it's just adding confusion. What it's doing is creating two terms that have practically the same English definition ("target character" and "choose a character"), that *also* have the same in-game function (selecting a card on which to resolve an effect), but comes with an additional *implied* meaning, that of them is harder to prevent than the other.

 

If that's the effect they wanted, they should have been explicit about it on the Tears/Tyene cards - "This ability can target untargettable characters, and characters who are immune to its effect" - , rather than overloading that meaning on to a synonym of "target".

It's going to suck when inevitably Tyene poison's Balon and then pulls Risen from your hand as Int claim. Maybe it's time to stop being a Greyjoy player..  

    • VonWibble and MagnusLothar like this
Taking control of a card does NOT give you control of its attachments or duplicates. In order to attach a duplicate you need to own and control both the dupe and the card being duped. While you control another player's unique card, that player cannot marshal or put into play another copy of that card.

 

 

So what happens if i take a location that is already duped with Dagmer ? Lets say i take an opponent's Small Council Chamber with 2 power that is duped. Do i take the power ? The duped is discarded ? Can he save it from my reaction ?

Like Dagmer says, you take control of the location. You don't take control of the dupe (the owner maintains control, and can choose whether to use it to save the location from leaving play, but not from anything else).

You don't take 'control' of the power - but that doesn't matter. You win the game by having 15 power on cards you control - and you now control the Small Council chamber. 

 

The dupe is not discarded. I'm not sure what you mean about saving it from your reaction; you haven't used any reactions. He cannot use the dupe to prevent you from taking control of the location - dupes only save cards from leaving play.

It makes no sense for Treachery to affect Small Council Chambers.

What do you mean?  Treachery does not affect Small Council Chambers.  It affects the effect created by Small Council Chambers.  A location and the effect that it creates are two different entities within the game.  In the case of Small Council Chambers, only the location itself has protection and not the effect.  There is nothing in the rules that suggests that an effect gains the qualities of the source that creates it.

It's going to suck when inevitably Tyene poison's Balon and then pulls Risen from your hand as Int claim. Maybe it's time to stop being a Greyjoy player..


Its always time to stop being a Greyjoy player ;)

Drowned God's Blessing doesn't affect Watcher on the Walls. Is this because you kill all attacking characters, so the Blessed guy isn't the only target? Because if that's the case, are they not the only target when attacking alone? (I assume the same logic is also applying to Dragon Sight if they arethe only character in the challenge)?

Just want to make 100% sure I understand Ward. Let's assume a Stark ( Player A ) vs. Stark ( Player B ) match-up.

 

Player A can only Ward Player B's Sansa Stark if:

1) Player A does not have Sansa Stark in play.

2) Player A does not have Sansa Stark in his/her dead pile.

 

If Player A does steal Player B's Sansa Stark with 2 dupes, with Lady and Nymeria attached to her:

1) The two dupes get discarded.

2) Lady (terminal) goes to the discard pile.

3) Nymeria (not terminal) goes back to its owner's hand.

 

If Sansa Stark dies after Player A stole it, Sansa Stark goes to Player B's dead pile. Player A is then welcome to play his own Sansa Stark, and Player B cannot steal it using Ward.

Photo
LoneElfRanger
May 17 2016 05:26 PM

If Player A does steal Player B's Sansa Stark with 2 dupes, with Lady and Nymeria attached to her:
1) The two dupes get discarded.
2) Lady (terminal) goes to the discard pile.
3) Nymeria (not terminal) goes back to its owner's hand.
 
If Sansa Stark dies after Player A stole it, Sansa Stark goes to Player B's dead pile. Player A is then welcome to play his own Sansa Stark, and Player B cannot steal it using Ward.

1) Dupes do not get discarded, but only the owner of the duplicates (the player who played them) can use them to save Sansa.
2) Lady stays attached to Sansa, but only the owner may trigger Lady's ability.
3) Nymeria stays attached to Sansa with all attendant benefits.

Yes, and yes.
    • Alsark likes this

1) Dupes do not get discarded, but only the owner of the duplicates (the player who played them) can use them to save Sansa.
2) Lady stays attached to Sansa, but only the owner may trigger Lady's ability.
3) Nymeria stays attached to Sansa with all attendant benefits.

Yes, and yes.

 

Either those answers got edited into the OP after I asked my question or I'm blind. Either way, thank you :).

Either those answers got edited into the OP after I asked my question or I'm blind. Either way, thank you :).

 

I edited the post :)

Drowned God's Blessing doesn't affect Watcher on the Walls. Is this because you kill all attacking characters, so the Blessed guy isn't the only target? Because if that's the case, are they not the only target when attacking alone? (I assume the same logic is also applying to Dragon Sight if they arethe only character in the challenge)?

 

It's because Watcher on the Walls does not target anything, for the same reason Tears of Lys doesn't target anything: it doesn't use the word "choose". The fact that Tears of Lys affects a single character (selected by the player who just initiated it) doesn't make that character a target. There is no overload of meaning. "Target" and "choose" always mean the same thing, and it's not "specific entity selected to be affected by an ability".

 

There are few abilities that have multiple targets, because most abilities that affect multiple entities do not target at all (those entities are usually defined as "each card that meets some criteria"). Even-Handed Justice always has multiple targets. Consolidation of Power can have multiple targets or a single one. Wildfire Assault is very weird in that regard: it usually has multiple targets, and it doesn't affect its targets at all.

    • OKTarg and istaril like this

Does Sworn Brother stack - if I have two in play is the cost of the 1st location I play reduced by 2 ?

Does Sworn Brother stack - if I have two in play is the cost of the 1st location I play reduced by 2 ?

 

Seems legit.