Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

FAQ for Lions of Casterly Rock
Oct 31 2016 05:40 PM |
mplain
in Game of Thrones
@rules
- Cersei's ability can be triggered when an opponent discards a card for reserve, intrigue claim, or any other reason.
* * * * *
Tyrion Lannister
- You need to choose one of the three options when you declare the use of Tyrion's ability, before its effects can be cancelled.
* * * * *
Tywin Lannister
- Tywin's ability works with pillage, Loot, The Tickler, and Jojen Reed. If Jojen makes each player discard the top card of the deck, Tywin will trigger once for each player.
- In multiple copies of Tywin are present in play, and a card is discarded from a deck, players choose whether to trigger their Tywin's ability in player order. Since this is a replacement effect, only the most recently triggered ability takes effect (same as Mirri Maz Duur + Vengeance for Elia).
* * * * *
Chella Daughter of Cheyk
- Ser Gregor Clegane's ability may result in Chella gaining intimidate and renown in the middle of processing keywords. The first player chooses the order in which different keywords are processed. So, if the first player is controlling Chella and Gregor, he should choose to process pillage first; otherwise, he should choose to process intimidate and renown first. The first player cannot choose to process keywords that are currently not present in play or not active.
* * * * *
Shagga Son of Dolf
- When Shagga enters play using ambush, if he is the only Lannister character that you control, you must choose and kill him.
* * * * *
Taena Merryweather
- Reactions to an event being played use the same timing window as reactions to the effects of that event. For example, you could play Dracarys, kill a Lord or Lady character, use Taena's ability, draw Funeral Pyre, and immediately play it.
* * * * *
Valyrian Steel Dagger
- Works on defense, since it says "during" and not "while participating". So you cannot stealth past a character equipped with the Dagger when declaring an intrigue challenge.
* * * * *
Insidious Scheme
- This card is played after intrigue claim, unlike most other reactions that are played immediately after the winner is determined.
* * * * *
Old Wyk
- If a card effect directly makes a character participate in a challenge, that character does not need to have a corresponding challenge icon.
- The order of cards in the dead pile may not be altered voluntarily. If multiple characters are killed simultaneously, their owner chooses the order in which they are placed into the dead pile.
- If there are several copies of the same unique character in your dead pile, you cannot put one of them in play.
- The "If you win the challenge..." effect resolves before any Interrupts or Reactions to winning/losing the challenge can be played.
* * * * *
You Murdered Her Children
- When a new modifier is applied, recalculate the value from the start. Apply all additive and subtractive modifiers first, before doubling and/or halving. The timestamp order in which card effects resolved does not matter (see Modifiers).
- Affected character loses the STR buff before it is killed at the end of the phase (relevant for Quentyn Martell).
* * * * *
Sweet Donnel Hill
- 'All keywords' means 'all instances of each keyword'. (Source)
* * * * *
Jeyne Westerling
- Jeyne + The Wolf King infinite combo no longer works under the new FAQ, because in Step 5 you must choose a target among those that were viable in Step 1.
* * * * *
High Septon
- Can only redirect an ability that uses the word "choose" (e.g. not Tears of Lys or Ghaston Grey).
- Targets are normally chosen before the ability's effects can be cancelled (except for post-Then effects, e.g. Ser Gregor and The Tickler).
- To check eligibility, see if the new target could have been chosen as a valid target for the original ability.
- Can redirect His Viper Eyes and Yoren's ability to an eligible The Seven character in your hand / discard pile.
* * * * *
Devout Freerider
- Gaining gold is defined as taking gold from the treasury. Paying gold to another player, or moving gold from one player's gold pool to another's, is not considered as gaining gold.
* * * * *
The Rains of Castamere
- Your plot deck must contain exactly 5 Scheme plots and 7 non-Scheme plots.
- You cannot reveal Scheme plots normally during the plot phase.
- When you reveal your last non-Scheme plot and resolve all When Revealed abilities, return your used plots to your plot deck.
- After you win an intrigue challenge by 5+ STR, you may reveal a Scheme plot and initiate it's When Revealed ability (your currently revealed plot goes into your used pile).
- When you reveal a new non-Scheme plot during the next turn's plot phase, your currently revealed Scheme plot is removed from the game (instead of going into your used pile).
- If you reveal Sneak Attack, and you've already initiated a challenge this turn, then you cannot initiate any more challenges.
* * * * *
Unexpected Delay
- Both players can choose the same character.
* * * * *
Summoned to Court
- If one player doesn't have any cards in hand, the post-Then effect still resolves.
- If multiple revealed characters are tied for the lowest printed cost, they can all be put into play.
13 Comments
- Can redirect His Viper Eyes and Yoren's ability to an eligible The Seven character in your hand / discard pile.
This isn't correct, is it? Doesn't it have to be a The Seven character you control?
- So, if the first player is controlling Chella and Gregor, he should choose to process pillage first; otherwise, he should choose to process intimidate and renown first. The first player cannot choose to process keywords that are currently not present in play or not active.
This seems a little confusing. From my understanding, this is saying that if the first player isn't the one controlling Chella/Gregor, they should process intimidate/renown first - presumably to avoid Chella being able to trigger them if she gains them later. However it then says that they can't process them unless something already has them. Is that right? Or have I completely misunderstood?
That's right. In the case of Renown, it will already be in play because of Gregor, so you can deny Chella from also getting the power if she would gain it; the Intimidate only applies if someone already has it, in which case Chella gaining it doesn't matter.
You control cards in your hand and discard pile.
@Old Wyk
So if the Top drowned god character in my dead pile is a uniqe and has at least one more copy in the dead pile, Old Wyk is blocked and can't do anything?
Yep. Because a unique character cannot enter play if there's another copy of him in his owner or his controller's dead pile. You cannot resolve the effect, so you cannot initiate the ability. There's nothing in the game that would allow you to ignore the top-most character and look at the second-from-top, or anything like that.
It will be an unlikely scenario anyways for Old Wyk as getting two copies in the dead pile would involve either a Crone, Heads on Spikes or a Gregor trigger. If the character is already dead, you can't play it, so the only way to get a second copy in the dead pile would be to have an effect "kill" the character directly out of your deck or hand. Not many effects that do that right now. I think only Aeron Damphair is a unique Drowned God character right now also, making it even more rare to see this come to pass.
So does the character actually have to be in the challenge? Can Janos be sitting off to the side but oh, he's got Intimidate so you can process it? What about if you've just won that challenge against a character with the keyword? Intimidate wouldn't work, but lets say pretend she would got Insight instead and you've just won against a character with Insight. Would that then be legal to process?
Wow. Just looked it up and that is an incredibly unintuative rule. I'm not even sure what the benefit of that is meant to be.
However, shouldn't High Septon still be stopped by the 'abilities can't interact with out of play areas unless they specifically say they do'?
(Man, remember how 2.0 was meant to fix the rules?)
1) "Note that a keyword can only be processed if a relevant instance of that keyword is present in the challenge." © FAQ v1.1
2) High Septon changes one legal target for another legal target. Legality is determined by the ability that is being redirected, not by High Septon. He just adds an extra restriction on the new target also having to be a The Seven character you control.
The sad thing is that actually makes perfect sense, thanks.
This could happen if one player has attachments or power on all of their characters - the other player then wants to choose the same character so that only 1 guy goes to hand and not 2.
Yes, you can choose a character that was already chosen for this effect. Added to the FAQ.
I really didn't understand the inreaction between Chela and Gregor.
So the First Player choose in which order keyword apply ? It's not the player who is controlling them ?
The rulebook says: "The first player chooses one keyword type (for instance, renown), and then all relevant instances of that keyword resolve simultaneously."
The FAQ clarifies: "Note that a keyword can only be processed if a relevant instance of that keyword is present in the challenge."